Random Working Out Update

The temperatures are getting ready to climb into the triple digits this weekend and I find myself feeling like I’m fighting off a summer cold 😦  Perhaps it’s just my body rebelling against all the stress of the last week.  I’ve had several people advising me about the dangers of stress to my health so I’m trying to take it under consideration and get back into a routine.

I’m an odd mix right now of anxiety and exhaustion, so part of me wants to sleep all day while the other part is like “Let’s do all the things!”  I’m trying to appease both parts with an equal mix of downtime and accomplishing things.

I keep saying I’m going to the gym but I haven’t gone in almost 3 weeks.

Part of my slacking (one of my excuses) is because I bought new insoles for my sneakers.  The first time I wore them they gave me giant blisters but I though maybe I needed to “break them in”; however, after a few walks I’m thinking I need to try new insoles….ones that don’t make my feet cry 😥

Last night I went for a short walk after dinner but wore flip-flops because I didn’t want to make my blisters any worse.  These are the worst blisters I’ve ever had so today I picked up more band-aids and first aid cream in an attempt to help the healing process plus I’m going to avoid any shoes that fit on my heels at least for the day.

I’m making a commitment to go to the gym Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.

Tomorrow it’s the gym then the Arboretum for a walk as long as the blisters aren’t bad.  I was going to skip Saturday I’ll go early in the morning then walk the .5 miles to the Farmer’s Market from there to pick up some eggs and spinach.  I did a bit of weight training this morning, continue to go for at least one 30 minute walk each day, and miraculously didn’t gain weight from my indulgent weekend.

We stayed fairly active over the weekend, going to the Solstice Festival and Parade in Fremont (walked about 5 miles that day), then going to the park on Sunday (about 3 miles), plus I found some dumbbells in my friend’s apartment and did a quick workout Friday morning.  If I end up over that way it’ll be nice to have a workout buddy 😀

Also, on my way back from Seattle I decided to stop at a scenic viewpoint, the Wild Horses Monument.  It’s this great sculpture installation on the top of this giant hill.  You can see it from the road and the parking lot (featured pic) but you can also hike up this steep trail to see the horses up close even if you’re wearing a skirt….you can throw on tennis shoes and start climbing.  In the middle of a 6 hour drive it was nice to know I’d at least gotten a workout in that day.

Horses 034

This hill was steep and the dirt is loose so it’s tough to get your footing.  The climb down was actually more challenging.  It was like, step, step, slide, step, step, slide…the whole way down.  Phone Pics 106I don’t always have a problem with graffiti but I think it has it’s place.  I couldn’t imagine climbing up there and writing my name or swear words all over these amazing sculptures, of course that didn’t stop me from taking a selfie.  Phone Pics 108

Switching topic again (this is why the title says random) I had a bit of a victory when I was cleaning out my closet yesterday.  I’d thrown some bras aside because they didn’t fit and I was planning to throw them into the Goodwill pile when I thought I might as well try them on (they were expensive) and was pleasantly surprised when they fit!   I also found a pair of capris I’d designated to the bottom of the closet because they didn’t fit and realized I could add them into my summer wardrobe 🙂

I’m trying not to focus on it too much but I would like to lose 5 lbs, which would put me at the 20lbs lost mark.  I’m not going to go crazy about it but after an indulgent weekend and a few weeks out of the gym I’m just going to work on getting myself back on track with my eating and working out.  I wouldn’t say I completely fell off the wagon but I did allow myself to slip back into some bad habits; however, when that happens I simply admit it happened and move forward.

We’re halfway through the week!  Hope everyone is having a good one!

9 comments

  1. keen peach · June 24, 2015

    Good luck with your commitment and you still have been pretty active even though it hasn’t been in the gym. And what a beautiful walk you had at the Wild Horses Monument! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 24, 2015

      Thank you! I’m glad I didn’t just stop going to the gym to lay on the couch…okay, maybe I had a few laying around days, lol but mostly I’ve been staying busy.
      Glad you like the pics! It was beautiful! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • keen peach · June 24, 2015

        Everyone needs some laying around days now and then. 🙂

        Like

  2. miusho · June 24, 2015

    Random is good, blisters are bad! I have special blister band aids just for that..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · June 24, 2015

      I find random is kind of my style 🙂 The blisters are terrible! I just have to remind myself to take it easy and let them heal….I’m struggling with that part

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · June 24, 2015

        I would have already totally ruined them and have band aids on my ankles, I am way too impatient! 😮

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Personal excellence · June 24, 2015

    Great post! Just so you know, I’m going to hold you accountable to your workout routine 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

