Cleaning out my closet

As I mentioned earlier today I was on a mission to clear out some clutter.  When I looked back at the before pictures I was almost embarrassed to post them but I can’t show off the after without posting the before.  The featured pic is midway through the cleaning, sometimes you have to make a mess to really clean things up.

At that point I was sitting on the floor in the only spot shifting through notebooks from high school, old resumes, grade school sticker books, and an assortment of other treats including an awesome NKOTB notebook (Yeah, I’m keeping that 😉 ) After 3 hours of cleaning (I took lots of breaks), 1 giant garbage bag, a pile of recycling, and a pile of donations I can once again walk into my storage closet without tripping over things.  It’s kind of amazing.

I had 2 large storage totes, the size that fits under a bed, filled with random stuff and managed to get it down to 1 large storage tote.  It was nice because I could use the second one for some items I wanted to keep safe but were originally just thrown on top of other boxes.  Things like signed posters from shows and some prints of my photos.

I broke down boxes that will work for moving and put the rest in the recycle pile.  I still need to go through the crate of picture frames to see what I can sell and what I want to keep.

The cleaning became a bit more therapeutic than I expected it to be when I started this project.  I might have wrote about this before but when I first graduated high school I went to college in Texas for a year.  It was fantastic and fun but I was not as focused as I needed to be so I failed most of my classes and had to come home.  When I came home I went to community college and still didn’t do very well so I’ve always looked at that time as a failure in my life.

Today I got rid of some of the baggage from that time period because (even though I’ve known it for years) I finally realized I can’t go back and undo the past.  The mistakes I made brought me to where I am today and despite not being exactly where I want to be in my life…..I have 2 degrees, tons of work experience, supportive family, great friends, and I’m working on what I consider to be a new chapter in my life.  Most importantly, I’m happy 😀

I’m never going to be able to go back, relive that time, make new choices but I can recognize that time for what it was and continue moving forward.

When I was going through some old letters, papers, etc. they were making me sad but all of sudden it hit me that I’ll never completely move forward if I don’t quit holding onto past mistakes, both mentally and physically.  Throwing away some of the things from that time period was sad but also completely necessary and as corny as it sounds I do feel lighter.  I feel like I’ve let go of something that may not have always been at the forefront of my mind but has haunted me in some way for years.

I can hold onto the friends I made, the lessons I learned, but the regret and anger toward myself for my mistakes…I need to let that go.

Anyways, now that I’ve gone through all the emotional clutter.  Here’s some before and after pics of the physical clutter.

1 Before1

Before Cleaning. Yikes! View from inside

Closet 009

After cleaning, view from inside

Before cleaning, view from the door

Before cleaning, view from the door

After cleaning, view from the door

After cleaning, view from the door

At one point I’d almost decided it wasn’t necessary to pull everything out but I’m so glad I did because the stuff I was keeping needed to be rearranged to make the most of the space.  Yay!  Now onto the next project!

P.S. It’s after 5 PM on a Friday so the odds of my hearing about the job have gone down drastically so unfortunately it looks like I might be suffering through a long, hot weekend of waiting 😦  Actually I’m sure I’ll find plenty of ways to keep myself busy.  This week went back faster than expected so I can definitely handle a few more days….but only a few more

One comment

  1. lovetotrav · June 27, 2015

    Yay for you! Doesn’t that just feel great? I hate doing it but love it after the fact. Hang in there this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

