Evening Workout

The evening workout wasn’t too bad.  I went around 7:30, the weight room just had a handful of people, and there were maybe 10 people in the whole gym so pretty quiet.

I like quiet.

It actually felt really good to be back in the gym, reminded me I like strength training and the gym.  Also it’s a necessary part of my work outs.  I’m limited as to what I can do at home so getting to the gym is important, although I could probably buy some dumbbells and get by without it but right now I’m in a contract and paying each month so might as well use it.

I’m going in the rest of the weekend then starting next week resetting my goal to 3 days a week, which is completely reasonable.  I have routines and am going to make up some new ones that only take 30 minutes so it’s definitely something I can handle each week.

This was my routine for last night 3 sets of 10 for each.

Leg extension (40lb)
Chest fly (40lb)

Leg press (140lb-1 set at 160lb)
Chest press (50lb)

Kettle bell shoulder raises (20lb)
Weighted calf raises (my weight +10lbs)

TRX rows
TRX squats

Bicep Curl (30lb)

The only thing I missed was the tricep pulls but I’ll do those tonight.  I have some routines in my phone but I found myself not following them so I think I need to make some revisions.  The routines are simple.  I like to be in and out in 30 minutes so I don’t try to over-complicate anything.  I’m still not at the point of doing leg day or back day, etc and just try to focus on a good mix of everything over the week.

My blisters are finally starting to heal (I’ll spare you guys the pictures) and last night walking around the gym was only moderately painful.  I took the insoles from my super old Nikes and put them in my pink Nikes because when I bought new insoles I threw away the ones from my pink Nikes….oops.  I’m going to attempt to return or exchange the new insoles but I can’t find the receipt and did wear them a few times so we’ll see how that goes.

The old insoles seem to feel better but I’ll know for sure tomorrow when I try my first long walk this week.  I think my attempts to keep walking definitely made the blisters worse and at some point I should’ve admitted my feet needed a break (I should have admitted de-feet XD ) but as someone who’s transitioning into an active lifestyle the idea of stopping can be scary.  I’m constantly afraid that a break will lead to a stop.

I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever get over that fear.

Hopefully I will because when I think about it even though I still have my lazy days I can’t imagine going back to my old habits because I was so miserable.  I think I’ll stay active and happy 😀

There’s so many things going on this weekend in the area.  My best friend is playing in the largest 3 on 3 basketball tournament, Hoopfest, only a couple hours away but I don’t know if I’ll make it up that way.  I’m so poor right now and there’s also the predicted 100+ degree heat o_O  I like hot but this might be a bit much for me so I think my goal will be to stay cool.  I’m going to the gym then walking to Farmers Market then I think hibernating in my cool apartment.

I’m off to make lunch, then spend the rest of the day cleaning and waiting for the phone to ring, hopefully I’ll be reporting more good news soon.

I got a little emoji crazy here at the end but oh well, let’s throw in one more.  Happy Friday! 🙂

Share your thoughts...

