Getting Over It

I am moving past the “waiting for a callback” topic that has dominated my blog for the last 2 weeks.  It’s not going to be easy to stop myself from thinking about it but I need to just continue living my life.  I have to be honest with myself about what I’ve been doing lately.  It’s going to sound harsh but I need to put an end to the little pity party I’ve been having for myself.

After this post today I’m not going to post anything else about it until I have new information.  

I really want to e-mail to avoid the phone call but I know a phone call is the better way to go.  I’m going to call tomorrow afternoon if I haven’t heard anything because it will have been exactly 2 weeks.  My next dilemma is figuring out who to call.  The person on the recruiting team who set up the interview?  One of the panel members?  Some random HR person?

I’m going to go with one of the panel members since I have the phone number for 2 of them and just check on the status of the hiring process.  I’m going to write out a little script with some notes to help me out.  In my research I realized I should have asked who I could contact for follow-up, if it’s okay to contact for follow-up, and the date to follow-up.

Lesson learned.  Move forward.

I realized last night after spending all day yesterday (obsessively) checking my e-mail and my phone I’m allowing the waiting to overtake my life.  It’s affecting my mood very negatively.  As I woke up sniffling and coughing I realized it might also be affecting my health.

This potential job is very important to me but I can’t allow it to consume me.  I’m becoming even more anxious than usual and depressed.  I allowed myself to get very excited at the prospect of moving and starting a new job that when everything didn’t happen right away it affected me more than I wanted to admit.

Last night I was resolved to spending the evening not thinking about it and started popping some popcorn so I could settle in to watch “True Detective” but I received within a minute of each other text messages from 2 amazing, wonderful, well-intentioned friends asking if I’d heard anything yet.

My previous calm quickly turned back to anxiety but I responded then put the phone in my bedroom, out of sight, out of earshot, and it was good.

I resolved to go to bed by 9PM because I was telling someone the other day to get into a routine and realized I needed to follow my own advice.  I didn’t even watch TV in bed (slowly breaking the habit), instead found a nice calm station on Pandora, Ocean Waves for Deep Sleep, set the sleep timer and went to sleep.  I recommend the station if you like nature sounds with some light music, very relaxing.

As I lay in bed this morning not wanting to get out of bed it furthered my resolve to want to get out this “waiting to hear back from a job” funk I’ve put myself in right now.  I realized allowing myself to sink into depression isn’t doing me any good.  I was talking myself out of even leaving the apartment today, which is a red flag for me.  When I start finding excuses for being a hermit then it’s time to fight.

Fight against the dark cloud hanging over my head and get outside.

I’m going to the gym, check on my friend’s cats, swing by the gallery, drop off the donations overtaking my car right now, and apply for some more jobs.  I’m also going to make some sugar scrubs so there will be a post about that later today.

If you’ve made it this far.  Thanks for listening to me whine about this issue one last time……Now it’s time to shake away my dark cloud and move onward to (hopefully) happier topics 🙂

6 comments

  1. briana1010 · July 1, 2015

    Personally, I advocate for email over phone. Having just gone through a hiring process, I had an offer out to one candidate when my 2nd choice called me. I let it go to voicemail because I literally couldn’t think of anything to say to her and it made me really anxious, particularly wondering if she needed to know by a certain time. She followed up via email and I was able to think about and answer tactfully that we were still deciding. She ended up getting the job because the first turned us down!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · July 1, 2015

      I read a similar scenario online so maybe I will just send an email to the first panel member, letting her know I’m still interested and available for any further questions.
      It’s so tough because each company is different, everything is just general guidelines so you just kind of wing it and hope you’re making the right choice. I’m still confident everything will work out. Thanks so much for the advice! It really helps! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • briana1010 · July 1, 2015

        No problem! I do think if you email – go straight to the panel member(s); if you call – go to the HR person, since they should be used to fielding those types of inquiries. And yes, everyone is different. What gets my boss to hire you wouldn’t get me to hire you and vice versa.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · July 1, 2015

    Sometimes you just need to rant. It’s ok. I don’t mind. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · July 1, 2015

      My ranting was turning into whining and feeling sorry for myself so it’s time to move on and quit letting it get me down.
      Thanks though for reading all my ranting/whining! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · July 1, 2015

        As long as you know yourself. 😛
        And you read mine too. So thank you too. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

