This Crazy World

This isn’t my typical post and I’m one of the least political people you will ever meet but the growing anger and hate in this country is concerning.  I actually held off on posting this for a few days but reading it back I don’t think I’ve written anything offensive or crazy;however, it’s an opinion and voicing opinions can always be a bit scary.


I read the news just enough to be informed about what’s going on but honestly it makes me so mad or sad sometimes I avoid it completely.

My concern for the current state of affairs is not new but I try to stay away from discussions of current events in a public forum.  The tension in this country is terrifying.  I find myself feeling like I’m constantly on guard, trying to not say anything to offend anyone, and the exaggerated efforts toward political correctness in society is scaring me.

I remember writing a post and was afraid to use the word ‘fat’ because I’d recently read an article about how it’s now considered an offensive word.  I think we’ve forgotten about the context of words or the fact that some words are descriptive words that can be used without any malicious intent.

We’ve started trying to create this strange version of extreme politeness to make everyone happy.

Not going to happen.

It’s nearly impossible to be politically correct 100% of the time, someone, somewhere, will almost always take issue with something.  I feel like we’re living in a time of trying to please everyone, right all wrongs, and erase the past but in doing so we’re creating more problems.

One of the top issues right now is the Confederate flag.

I tend to focus on pop culture rather than what some might consider actual news but sometimes the two coincide.  The most recent installment is TV Land’s decision to pull Dukes of Hazzard reruns off the air because the car on the show features the Confederate flag….Really?!?

Out of the barrage of offensive things on the air right now they decide to pull the good ol’ boys off the air.

Let’s name some shows more offensive than the Dukes of Hazzard….almost every show on cable and network television today.  The content of the Dukes of Hazzard is pretty wholesome.  I think the violence, offensive language, nudity, sex scenes, racist and sexist material on many shows today far outweighs the offensive factor of the Confederate flag on a car.

I’m worried about the future because I think the more we dwell on past issues of race, politics, gender, sexuality, the more divided and angry the country becomes.  We’re not working to solve problems right now we’re adding fuel to a fire that’s been burning for decades, a fire that is consuming our country with so much rage and hate.

We need to start looking at problems not as the problems of a specific group but as problems of humans.  We need to work together to make changes.  I feel like we’re trying to right wrongs by erasing all evidence of the past.

Erasing the past is not the solution.

We can’t pretend the parts of history we don’t like didn’t happen by banning books, not teaching about certain events in school, or eliminating a TV show featuring a Confederate flag.  As a society we’ve made mistakes that will never be made right, could never be made right but I think the best solution is to find ways to move forward and to avoid ‘right now’ becoming one of those moments in history future generations will be trying to erase.

4 comments

  1. Ompong · July 5, 2015

    This is a good easy, daisy. I completely agree with your points. The past, instead of erasing it, should be like a teacher who can teach us how to handle our fiture collectively as “humankind”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Constructing Carrie · July 4, 2015

    I agree with you completely! I was horrified when I heard they were pulling Dukes of Hazzard. There are shows all over tv that depict rape and abuse as if it’s nothing, but find it offensive that two wholesome cuties from the 80s are driving that car! There needs to be a serious shift in priorities. Now I’m feeling compelled to write about this…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · July 5, 2015

      When I heard about it I knew I wanted to write but it was a bit off topic from my usual subjects plus putting an opinion out on the internet can unfortunately sometimes be like putting a target on your back.
      I’m glad you agree and I look forward to reading what you write if you decide to tackle the topic 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

