Why I Have so Much Stuff

Today is all about waiting so instead of focusing on it I decided to write about the other focus in my life right now  As I’ve continued to clear out my apartment I’m realizing how much I love clean space and the ability to find things when I need them.  I’ve always been super organized and obsessed with organization at work but my home life often leaves something to be desired.

All of the items I’ve sold, donated, or thrown away I don’t even miss but I’m still tempted to buy more stuff so I have to remind myself of how I came to accumulate so much stuff and what I need to do to keep myself from going back to old habits.

The List of Reasons Why I Have so much Stuff & How I’m Changing:

  • Buying things I don’t really need because it “was a good deal”

Working at an office supply store I would buy pens, markers, paper, and other assorted goodies on clearance.  Do I need 10 boxes of crayons (not an exaggeration), 6 packs of glue sticks, or another pack of Sharpies?  No, but it’s so cheap and I’ll use them or donate them or the most likely scenario, allow them to grow dust in the back of a drawer.  Here’s the lesson I’ve learned about a good deal and it’s pretty common sense.

It’s only a good deal if it’s something you actually need.

I’m not cured of my tendencies so I still want to snatch things up when I see sales but I make myself stop and ask a few questions.  Is it something you need?  Is it something you can use within the next month?  Do you already have something similar at home?  If I’ve managed to convince myself I need it I’ll often make myself go home to think about it and usually forget about it, lol, so it works to deter my spending.

  • Keeping clothes that don’t fit

Many people have those articles of clothing they hang onto even though they don’t fit.  It’s either an old item that used to fit, or an item bought with the intention of losing weight or maybe for some special imaginary future event.  It’s one thing to have an item or two, like an old pair of jeans but to hold onto an entire wardrobe that doesn’t fit is ridiculous.

If you’re like me you’ll find half the stuff you’re hanging onto isn’t even your style anymore plus isn’t one of the perks of losing weight buying new clothes? 😉

  • Keeping things for sentimental value rather than actual use

I’ve wrote about this before and I’ve come to the point where I realize if I’m not using it I should give it to or sell it to someone who can use it instead of allowing it to grow dust in the closet because it was from a family member or best friend, or whoever.  I know them and if I’m not using it they don’t want me to hang onto it either.  It might even just come from a special period in your life but some things have to be let go.

I’m not saying throw out everything but keep in mind you’re not getting rid of the memory, just a material reminder of the memory.

  • Hanging onto things for “someday”

I’m terrified of getting rid of something I might need but I’m becoming more afraid of being overrun by clutter.  I bought a shadowbox to use for my brother’s wedding gift and when I did they were buy one, get one free so I grabbed a second one with the intention of doing another project that never happened so it’s been sitting in my closet for almost 2 years.  I realized if I haven’t used it in 2 years I’m probably not going to use it anytime soon, so I listed it to sell.

My new philosophy is if I haven’t used it in the last year it needs to go.

  • Being lazy and not keeping things organized

This is the root of my clutter because I never knew what I had or where it was so I would buy duplicates or have things I never used because I didn’t even know I had them.  I recently discovered 3 metal water bottles in my apartment.  One was on top of the small filing cabinet under my desk and 2 more were tucked away on the top shelf of the kitchen cupboards (where I can’t even reach).  I’d almost bought a new one on several occasions.

A place for everything and everything in it’s place.

I feel like the cleaning and ridding myself of some of my clutter is one more chapter in my journey.  One where I realize not only can I survive with less stuff but I’m actually happier with less stuff.  My priorities have shifted and I’ve learned it’s sometimes necessary to get rid of some of the unnecessary clutter to make room for new opportunities  🙂

5 comments

  1. Ompong · July 11, 2015

    My wife also have lots of stuff… In fact, we assigned one room in our house just to put all her stuff there. Hehehe!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lauramacky · July 10, 2015

    I can’t stand clutter. I think I’m the opposite in that I get rid of things too quickly!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · July 10, 2015

      I wish I was more like that, although right now I’m so motivated by my clean apartment I sometimes worry I’m getting rid of too much. I’m trying to find that balance between keeping everything and getting rid of everything.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lauramacky · July 10, 2015

        We’ve moved so many times that I’ve had to be good about keeping it to a minimum. This is the last place we are living though so I can be a bit more forgiving.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · July 11, 2015

        My moves have been really spaced out over the last 15 years and in the same town so it was easier to hang onto stuff, hopefully my next move will be cross state so I’ve got to be a bit more selective about stays with me.

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

