Saturday Snacks-Roasted Chickpeas

I didn’t get the phone call I wanted to get yesterday.  I’ll clarify to say I didn’t get a phone call at all yesterday 😦

Unfortunately in my mind I built up Friday to be “THE DAY” so when it ended up not being the day I was pretty upset.  I’d built up so much anxiety and emotion that when I didn’t get the call I allowed doubt to overwhelm my mind but I made myself go for a walk.

During the walk I gave myself a pep talk.  I had to rationalize with myself.  I didn’t not get the job, I’m just still waiting.

I let myself have a lazy day today.  I slept in.  I ate a huge breakfast.  I laid on the couch watching “Freaky Eaters” for hours (It’s a weird show about people who eat weird things, like the guy who only ate french fries).  I played games on my phone.  I basically did nothing.

The one thing I did accomplish was making one of my new favorite snacks and I like “Saturday Snacks” so it might become a regular thing.

Last week in Meal Plan Monday I mentioned making roasted chickpeas.  I made them again today and actually remembered to take pictures before I devoured them all.  If you’ve looked at my meal plans you know I like simple.  If a recipe has too many ingredients or steps I tend to pass it by unless I’m feeling super ambitious….this doesn’t happen very often.  I see “Prep time: 1 Hour” and I’m scrolling to the next recipe.

Thankfully this delicious snack is super easy and only has 3 ingredients.

  1. Olive oil
  2. Can of Garbonza beans (Chickpeas)
  3. Seasonings

Heat oven to 400° F

Drain beans, rinse, and pat dry.  I pat them with paper towels or you can let them air dry a bit

Put the beans in a bowl, toss with olive oil, add in seasonings of your choice.  I used chilli powder, salt, cumin, and a little pepper but there’s tons of recipes out there or you can just get creative.  Toss with the seasonings so they’re all coated.

Put on a baking sheet in a single layer.  Bake until crisp, about 30-40 minutes.

Voila!  Instant snack!  I could see making this for a get-together or taking it with me for a road trip snack or on the trail.  I tend to go for savory snacks rather than sweet (except for the occasional cookie) so this is a healthier alternative than grabbing a bag of potato chips.  I will warn you, they’re super addictive and it’s easy to munch away the whole batch but I had to remind myself about moderation.  Too much can quickly turn a healthy snack into an overindulgence so I put the lid on the bowl and set them aside.

That’s what I got for today.  I think I’m headed back to the couch to see if I can find a good movie to watch or more likely spend an hour trying to pick a movie before giving up and just going back to watching “Lost”

Hope everyone is having a great weekend!  😀

2 comments

  1. Ompong · July 12, 2015

    Have a great weekend, daisy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

