Apartment Hunting :(

Today has been an interesting day.  I think in order to live in the city I’m going to need to sell a body part or find a sugar daddy, neither option is very appealing so my realistic option is to save my pennies.

My maximum amount per month I would pay began to creep up slowly during the day as I realized anything in the lower ranges is either scary or taken.

At one point I thought I found a place in the price range and it looked beautiful.  Everything was new and shiny.  I began to click away with my excitement growing until I saw the square footage….150 square feet…… o_O  Now some of my readers might be used to these tight quarters but when I realized I would be living in a place about the size of the room I was sitting in I decided to keep looking.

I’ve opened up to the idea of a studio because I know there are some great ones out there, unfortunately so do other people and none of those are available.

My day was spent in front of my computer and on the phone.  I learned that apartment prices will change constantly, even day by day so half the prices I saw online were not accurate so I was extremely annoyed to call a place I thought was in my price range only to find out it’s actually $100 more per month.

I’m disappointed because right now I have only 2 appointments set up for Saturday so I need to keep looking.  I’m getting super burnt out on it right now though so I had to stop looking for a little bit especially after talking to the last guy.  I wanted to reach through the phone and punch him.  I understood that he was trying to cover his bases and explain the income based housing but it was his tone that made me finally say “I don’t think this is worth the hassle and I’ll just keep looking”


That was the end of yesterday.  I was so frustrated and discouraged.  I was thinking I needed to start cleaning out my car since that’s where I was going to be living.  Today I slept in until after 9:00, which was much needed and woke up with a renewed sense of energy ready to take on the day.

Back to the apartment hunt.

I’m quickly learning the differences between living in a rural community vs. living in an urban community.

w/s/g not included anywhere so when you look at a place plan on about $50 more than the price listed.
More units with w/d so that’s a perk.
The parking issue, pay or risk having to try to find parking everyday.
I love James the Cat but I think he’s going to need to get a job

One of my biggest lessons was learning the price listed might not be the price so you have to make phone calls, lots of them, and leave messages.  I’ve got the message down to a neat little script.  “My name is Tasha.  My phone number is …….  I was wondering if you have any studios or 1 bedrooms available for rent by the end of the month.  If someone could return my call I would appreciate it.  Thank you”  Luckily, with the exception of the guy yesterday everyone I’ve talked to has been very friendly and helpful.

Random question.  Who comes up with apartment complex names?  I’m trying to keep my notes organized but struggling to remember if I called Whispering Pines or Pinewood Square or Highwood Square or or Camelot or Casablanca or Hanger 128.  That last one gets points for creativity and for featuring a smiling couple with their arms outstretched like they’re playing airplane on the cover of the website XD  It made me laugh.

I need to laugh because I could rent a small 2-3 bedroom home for the price I’m looking at for a studio but I keep reminding myself this is what I wanted and it’s going to be an adjustment but it’s going to be worth it in the end.  I’m excited but I also think some part of me is still scared but I’ll write about that in another post because for now it’s back to browsing through the wonderful world of apartments……

15 comments

  1. Constructing Carrie · July 15, 2015

    Pinterest has a TON of small space decorating solutions. If you can get inspired by some of those, it might help you in opening up to ideas in your apartment search! Good luck! I love looking for housing, but it’s soooo frustrating too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · July 15, 2015

      That’s a good idea! I’ve been neglecting my Pinterest boards lately so I’ll definitely check it out. The idea of a new place and new start is exciting it’s just not being in the immediate area to go look at places is making it more difficult but I’m optimistic I’ll be able to find something soon. 😀

      Like

      • Constructing Carrie · July 15, 2015

        Not being there to actually get to walk into the units would definitely be more stressful. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll find something super cute!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · July 15, 2015

    You could always look for something temporary for a few months and keep looking?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · July 15, 2015

      I’ve got some options lined up in case I can’t find a place but really hoping I can find a place of my own. We’ll see how it goes. My mom and I venture over this weekend to spend the day apartment hunting so we’ll see how it goes..

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · July 16, 2015

        I wish you lots of luck in your search (and demand updates)! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · July 16, 2015

        Thanks! Updates will be provided 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Smiling Notes · July 15, 2015

    Wish you all the very best for your apartment hunting!! 👍Don’t worry..things will fall into place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · July 15, 2015

      Thanks! I’m definitely started to feel more optimistic about the next few weeks☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lovetotrav · July 15, 2015

    Hang in there. It will work out one way or the other. Better to be looking for a place to live than to be looking for a job… at least I think so. Especially when the move means a job that is well-suited for you and will take you where you want to. Small is simple and simple can be very good at times.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · July 15, 2015

      Thanks. It’s good just challenging. Yesterday was tough. I was tired and frustrated but today I’m feeling more optimistic that I’ll find a place this weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. briana1010 · July 15, 2015

    On the bright side, it’s about half the price of Boston suburbs! haha Downsizing is definitely a struggle – good luck! My only thought is that street parking is an option to save money. You get to know the areas in your ‘hood that have spots available and it’s not so bad.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

