A Closet full of Somedays

I’ve gone down this road before but it’s on my mind lately and after sharing my post Do I want to be Skinny? I began to dwell on the subject of body acceptance.

I’m still sick of the focus on weight and size instead of health.  The fact that women and men get caught up in this cycle of trying to change their bodies to fit into a mold that might not be the best fit.  We don’t all have the same body shape so there is no singular “perfect” body type, everyone will not have 6 pack abs or a thigh gap.  Every body is different and that’s okay, although many seem to think it’s not and strive or push for some idea of perfection thinking that changes in appearance will lead to ultimate happiness.

I’ve learned happiness has to come from more than your appearance.  I think a positive self-image is an important component to happiness but if that’s the sole basis of your happiness you could benefit from looking at other areas of your life.

I jumped off the diet roller coaster but it’s tempting to want to jump back on especially when people rave about how much weight they’ve lose doing this or that;however, I know it’ll just make me miserable in the end so I avoid it.  I’m about simplicity and long-term sustainability so I continue to focus on healthier habits, eating better foods and moving more.  I’m not where I need to be health-wise but I work hard and continue to make progress.

I’ve lost weight but along the way I found the less I focused on losing weight the more weight I lost and I’m happier.  I’m not completely confident with my body but I’m 100 times more confident than I was in November when I began this journey.

Do I still have parts of my body I want to change?  Of course.
If my fairy godmother showed up and could take away 50lbs would I let her?  Probably….

I still have days where I hate my body, where all my clothes make me look short and fat but those days pass.  I still have moments where I worry if someone is going to judge or make fun of me for something I’m wearing but I find I don’t really care as much anymore.

I’m going to wear tank tops, dresses, shorts, clothes that show some skin in a tasteful way because I’m not as self-conscious about showing my arms or legs.  It sounds weird to type out but I spent summer wearing light cardigans to avoid wearing tank tops.

Now when I talk to women who get down on themselves about their weight it makes me sad.  I want to tell them to own it, work on change if you want to but learn to love your body.  Learn how to dress your current body instead of focusing on what you can’t wear.  You still have to wear clothes so why not dress your best?

I’m no fashionista but once I started dressing for my body instead of trying to hide every little flaw I began to love shopping and love dressing up.  I used to dread going out partially because I would default to one outfit because my closet was filled with “someday” clothes, the clothes I was going to wear when I lost weight.

I’m honest to a fault so I will admit to still having a few “someday” pieces but 95% of the clothes in my closet are clothes that fit me right now in this moment.  I realized it was ridiculous to not have clothes that fit.  The weight was not going to disappear overnight so I needed to buy some clothes for my current body instead of limiting myself with a closet full of clothes that were either ill-fitting or too small.

Now that I get to dress up a little bit for work instead of having to wear the dreaded uniform (seriously, I wanted to burn my uniform shirts) I was thinking I might start sharing some of my work outfits from the week.  I love finding fashion ideas from other people so I hope people will enjoy what I share.

I’m not turning into a fashion blog or anything but since I’ve started working I’ve been trying to come up with some new post ideas so I’m going to give this a try.  I’ll probably put it out on Wednesday since I’ve got an idea for a title with some alliteration which I love like my beloved Meal Plan Mondays plus I think with working themed posts might help me write more often.

Hope the week is going well so far.  My week has been interesting but I’ll share more about work in another post 🙂

Image from Flickr

3 comments

  1. miusho · August 11, 2015

    I never do “someday” clothes.. The ones I do have I give away because “someday” never arrives. :O
    And they were initially clothes that did fit but then.. I gained weight and my butt expanded. ._.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · August 12, 2015

      I’m the same but kept refusing to give away clothes that didn’t fit and buy new clothes because I kept hanging onto the idea of “someday” I’m trying to get better about not hanging onto clothes that don’t fit.

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · August 12, 2015

        Clothes that don’t fit won’t make you happy. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

