Working Wardrobe Wednesday

Every so often I come up with an idea, put it out there for the world then think….Wait a minute, do I really want to do this?

That’s how I feel about this new post idea.  I was really excited last night then this morning doubt arrived making me question if this was really a good idea.  I finally reminded myself that I’m not signing a contract obligating me to write this post each week and if I don’t like it I won’t do it anymore.

Problem solved, now onto the post.

For 12 years going to work every day required a uniform, black slacks, black shoes, and whatever shirt corporate decided we should be wearing that month.  Not excessive but I did go through at least 5 different shirt changes during my career.  As a full time employee every time this happened I was getting rid of 5-6 shirts and replacing them (often out of my own pocket) with 5-6 new shirts….I’m glad to be done with the uniform.

If you follow me you know I’ve made serious changes in my life, career change, lifestyle change, and change of location.  I’ve found new confidence and over the last year gone from obsessing over what I wear because of my weight to obsessing over what I wear because I’m loving my body right now (not all the time, I’m not a robot but more good days than bad).

Here’s the lowdown on me and the body I’m dressing:

I’m short, 5’3″-5’5″ depending on what day you ask me 😉 (5’3″) and wear size 18/20

I don’t think because you’re overweight you should resign yourself to moo-moos, smocks, or potato sacks.  People don’t always believe it but wearing fitted clothes (and by this I simply mean clothes that fit) can make you look slimmer.  I’m not saying you should run out and buy all the skin hugging shirts you can find because you also need to wear what makes you feel comfortable but I’m just saying give it a try.

Just like food the only way you’ll know if you like something is to give it a try.  I’ve grabbed something off the rack thinking I was going to love it but it ended up looking awful so I thought couldn’t that same thing work in reverse.  I don’t grab things I hate but I will grab clothes I might think won’t work just to see.  It doesn’t usually hurt to try something on…unless you get trapped in a shirt….not that it’s ever happened to me 🙄

I was a little disappointed when I found out my dress code is more casual so no dresses or skirts and more jeans.  It’s professional but because of certain aspects I have to be able to move.  I’m not a jeans and t-shirt kind of person so with this new job I’m trying to balance a kind of girly style with business casual and ready to move.  The other thing is the office is cold but outside is hot so light sweaters or layers have been my go-tos.

FullSizeRender (8)FullSizeRender (7)

My first day I wanted to be kind of dressy since I was meeting people for the first time but I did know the dress code was more on the casual side of business casual so I didn’t want to show up in a suit or anything too fancy.

Left:  I opted for black cropped slacks and a light sweater with a fun pattern.

Right:  I finally got a chance to wear my fun flowered sweater with the same black pants this week.

The cropped black pants were an experiment but I really like them because they’re comfortable and can easily be dressed up or down.  The first day outfit with heels and a blazer would move me into a more professional look so it’s a versatile piece.  Versatile pieces are key to a great wardrobe.FullSizeRender (10)

FullSizeRender (9)

Left:  Striped sparkly sweater with skinny jeans and flats.  Skinny jeans were one of those things I thought I would never wear because I’m not skinny but I love them, so comfortable and flattering.

Right:  Today was a rough day, didn’t feel good so I went pretty casual with a striped 3/4 length tee and black cardigan with jeans and sneakers.

Don’t judge me too harshly or laugh too much at the last picture where I look like I have to pee, lol XD

I’m still working on this fashion selfie thing but I’ll get the hang of it.  I’m mostly worried I won’t have enough content because I don’t have enough of a wardrobe but part of my angle is you don’t have to have a huge wardrobe to dress nice and have variety.

Hope you enjoy!  I’m always open to feedback and comments 🙂

10 comments

  1. Layla · August 13, 2015

    I’m not a big fan or the first outfit, but I love the rest. I’m also keeping the amount of clothing in my closet limited. I’m getting used to wearing ‘office’ clothes now and I’m getting a lot of compliments about my outfits. But I work in a men heavy office, so I don’t want to dress to sexy all the time. Plus, outside its hot and inside I’m cold because of the airco, so I know how you feel, it’s really hard to dress for those contrasts

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · August 13, 2015

      My office is a good mix of male and female but I’m working with criminals so I’m definitely watch my necklines…I’m wearing layers to try to deal with the hot/cold contrasts.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · August 12, 2015

    Moomoos, smocks or potato sacks.. I almost laughed out loud. 😛

    But yes. You can still wear a “sort of”uniform but this time entirely of your choosing. 😛 I’m planning on something like that eventually. If it ever happens? Who knows. OH WELL. Just give it a few weeks and you should be a lot less anxious!
    Your clothes look nice on you so no worries about that! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · August 13, 2015

      Thanks! 🙂 I just feel like some of the women dress super casual like giant t-shirts and jeans but that’s just not my style so I’m going with what I like to wear while still trying to fit into the office attire.

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · August 13, 2015

        That’s the fashion these days.. But we don’t do fashion! 😛 current fashion is a bit too casual for work I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · August 14, 2015

        No fashion for me. I realized trends change too much so I finally learned to just wear what I like to wear.

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · August 15, 2015

        Same here, I don’t have time for trends.. I got work to do. >_<

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Constructing Carrie · August 12, 2015

    Super cute outfits! I’m in love with that floral cardigan!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Daisy9979 · August 13, 2015

      Thanks Carrie! It’s one of those pieces that’s been hiding in the back of my closet, actually forgot I even had it until I moved. It had a tiny hole in it so I think I resigned it to the back of the closet but it took about a minute to sew up the hole so I’m glad it’s back in the rotation 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • briana1010 · August 16, 2015

      Seconded! love the flower cardigan!

      Like

Share your thoughts...

