Meal Plan Monday

My meal plans are going to be kind of boring until I get a little more settled in financially but I am going to make the effort to branch out and try some different meals.  Something I ran into this week was realizing I’m out of some of the staples people keep in their pantry, like soy sauce, sugar, bread crumbs.  I threw away some stuff when I left and some I just ran out of but decided to wait until I moved to replenish; however the problem is I forget I’m out of these things until I go to cook something so I do have to do a little shopping this week.

The list is simple but a small package of chicken breasts will last me all week.  Tuna is inexpensive and will work for lunch or dinner.  French dip on the menu is tentative, based on my finding a good price on a small roast somewhere, if not alternative meal is something with hamburger.

I’m looking forward to doing orientation at work this week because last week I didn’t have much to do and that lead to me snacking all day.  I was smart and brought in plain almonds to munch on when I got bored.  They’re delicious and high in fat but super filling so I can’t eat too many.

I’m still trying to get into a routine with eating and working out but I think the meal plans are helping.  I was tempted to skip meal plans this week but that was just me being lazy plus I worry about it getting boring since I don’t have much variety. I’ve worked with cauliflower before making tater tots but the pizza crust is new so I’m not completely boring 😀  Also I’m going to try something different for the pasta salad.

In the past pasta salad involved mayo but I know there’s lots of others options so I’m going to see what I can create and I’m open to ideas.

I can’t believe this will be my third week in a new place at a new job, time flies when you’re having fun!  Here’s to another great week!

M:  Salad
Tofu spaghetti
T:  Soup
Pasta salad
W:  Soup
Chicken with veggies
T: Leftovers
Breakfast for Dinner
F: Mystery Meal
Pizza with cauliflower crust
S: Pasta with tuna and broccoli
S: French Dip

3 comments

  1. koolaidmoms · August 17, 2015

    I perfectly understand the being to the end of the month (we get paid once a month on the last day of the month) and the pantry being a little bare. I can’t wait to hear about the tofu spaghetti – sounds interesting. For the pasta salad how about a balsamic vinegrette or a sun-dried tomato basil vinegrette?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · August 17, 2015

      It’s basically just spaghetti with tofu instead of ground beef. This is my favorite recipe for ground beef tofu http://www.apronstringsblog.com/tofu-taco-filling/ It’s so good, definitely my favorite way to make tofu.
      Good idea on the pasta salad, especially good because I already have a vinaigrette on hand so one less thing on the grocery list 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • koolaidmoms · August 17, 2015

        Awesome! Thank you!

        Like

Share your thoughts...

