Avoiding the Comfort of Food

I didn’t go to the fitness center yesterday but I did make it today after work, actually I felt like I had to go workout today.

After work today I felt….weird, a bit isolated, a bit restless, so I first attempted to eat everything I could find in my apartment but that just made me feel a little sick.  I texted a bunch of people.  I made plans for the weekend.  I tried to watch one of my favorite shows (Naked and Afraid, so addicting)but couldn’t even focus and what was strange is the thing that sounded most relaxing was a good workout.

I wanted to walk.  I wanted to listen to loud music, walk, and not think about anything.

It was AMAZING!!

Definitely not my best workout but for not officially working out in about a month I think I did alright.  I did just under 2 miles in 30 minutes so I’m still close to that 15 minute mile mark.  I actually jogged for several minutes throughout my time.

The fitness center is pretty nice and today there was only one other person in there with me.  Treadmill, elliptical, bicycle, plus a weight system where you can do leg press, chest press, shoulder press, rows, lateral pull downs, leg extension, so you can get a good workout.  I also have 5 lb dumbbells at home.  IMG_9567Basically, I’ve found a way to get in good workouts without having to join a gym and I’ve rediscovered my motivation.  

My job is going to be stressful.  Some aspects will be physically demanding so I want to get and keep myself in shape.
Also, my previous goal of getting healthy is still on my mind.  I haven’t completely relapsed but the potential for falling into old habits is exceedingly high right now.

In the few short weeks I’ve found one of my reactions to stress is to seek out comfort food.  After work today all I wanted was cheese, fries, bacon, burgers, (are you guys hungry yet?), pizza, chicken sandwich, quick, easy bad for you food.  I resisted.  I knew I had food at home to eat plus I’d indulged my craving for fast food last week with an excursion to Burger King.

I try not to deny myself too much and a fast food meal every once and again isn’t the best but it’s also not the end of the world;however, I began to see how easy it would be for me give into these cravings everyday using stress as the justification.

I’m early in my career and now is the time I need to establish good habits because it’s only going to get more challenging from here.  Thankfully during my time off I established enough of a foundation I think I can easily get back into good habits with just a bit of effort.

I’m looking forward to more workouts this week plus having an active weekend.  I’m trying to avoid turning to food for comfort and seek out healthier ways to relieve stress.

Do you ever find yourself turning to food when you’re stressed?  What is something you do to relieve stress?

4 comments

  1. Cheryl · August 19, 2015

    There’s nothing like going for a walk/run while listening to my favourite music. For at least 30 minutes every day, it’s my chance to forget about everything else and just focus on me. Blaring the music at home while I clean up also helps. Congratulations on your new lifestyle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · August 19, 2015

      Thanks! 🙂 I’m sitting all day at my job so the walking serves to both get me moving and give me that zone out time to switch from work to home mode.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · August 18, 2015

    I used to listen to loud aggressive music and play games.. kill the little puny mobs that die in one hit. 😀

    Like

  3. Ompong · August 18, 2015

    I play PC games to have that stress go away… 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts...

