Working Wardrobe Wednesday

Not many pictures this week.  The couple I did take were terrible so they have been deleted off my phone never to be seen again but I will have more pictures next week.

This weekend I added a pair of gray slacks to my wardrobe rotation plus found a pair of jeans I’ll pick up once I have some money.  I was ecstatic to fit into size 18’s.  The last pair of pants I bought I grabbed a size 20 but ended up in an 18 but some part of me thought it was just a fluke so when I grabbed the 18’s and they fit I was so happy.  😀

I did have to hem them because every other woman is at least 4 inches taller than me so I’ve learned to sew.  The seams aren’t perfect but I did manage to get even hems on both legs….seems like a given but it doesn’t always turn out this way. I’ve had some pretty hideous hems before so this is a significant improvement.

As I ease my way back into the workforce I’m finding the more prep I do (meal plans, weekly schedules, etc.) on the weekends the easier it makes life during the week.  Sometimes at the end of the day even the simplest thing seems like a major ordeal.  The last thing I want to do at night is pick out clothes for the next day and I definitely don’t want to wait until the morning because I have things I would rather do than spend 30 minutes trying on clothes.

This week to help myself I picked my work clothes for the whole week on Sunday. I put together outfits and moved these clothes to a different part of the closet.  One thing I did learn from doing this is I need to find more color for my wardrobe.  Most of my work tops are black or gray so when I shop I’m going to look for more colored tops to go with all the neutral pants I have in my wardrobe.

It’s 2 pairs of slacks, khakis and gray, 4 tops and a blazer, although I did swap out the blazer for a cardigan because the orientation ended up being more casual than I anticipated.  It was an easy trade.  Just like my meal plans I’m not locked into anything but at least narrowing down my options helps me feel less overwhelmed by choices.  IMG_9568

I overheard a young girl in the dressing rooms at Target telling her mom she “didn’t get very many clothes” but the mom reminded her daughter of the different outfits she could make with those few pieces and that it’s important to have pieces that go together in different combinations.

Bravo to that advice!

I think too many people think they need more clothes to have a complete wardrobe but from my own experience less is more, except when it comes to shoes….but maybe that’s just me 😉

4 comments

  1. Layla · August 19, 2015

    I’ve been trying to come up with new variations on the stuff I have in my closet as well, and I’ve actually found out I can do more combinations with the few new neutral things I got instead of the combinations I would be able to make with all the stuff I had before. Plus, nobody notices when you wear an idem a little more often, because it doens’t stand out

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · August 20, 2015

      I rely heavily on the neutral pieces and just need a few pops of color like a colored cardigan and a few shirts with color to brighten up the neutrals a bit. Thanks for the advice. I tend to get in the mindset that I need to come up with some new, amazing outfit for every day of the week. I think part of it is just still being new. I forget that if I wear the same pair of pants two days in one week nobody really cares or even notices.

      Like

      • Layla · August 20, 2015

        Yeah, I had that thought as well. That people actually remember (or care) what I was wearing last week. I don’t even remember what they where warring..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · August 20, 2015

        I keep trying to think of how much I pay attention to what other people wear, if I really notice if they wore the same shirt 2 days in a row and I can honestly say I don’t so I’m sure most people feel the same way about my clothes.

        Like

Share your thoughts...

