I Am Not a Runner….

……and I’m okay with it.

I thought I was going to get into an argument with the ladies I went on a hike with this weekend because they were talking about running. The one girl seems to enjoy running, talking about how she’s getting back into it.  My other friend talked about disliking running but talked about getting back to it because that was a time when she lost weight.

I said I came to terms with the fact that I’m not a runner.  I don’t enjoy it.  It’s not my thing.  I told them “Why would you do an exercise you hate doing?”

At which point someone changed the subject.

I have a love/hate relationship with squats and lunges but I don’t understand basing the bulk of your workouts on an activity you don’t enjoy.  I might be totally off base but I’m of the mindset a workout shouldn’t be something you just want to get through as quickly as possible.  Exercise is meant to be challenging but there should be some element of enjoyment otherwise you won’t keep it up.

I think too many people get caught up in thinking there’s exercises you have to do in order to lose weight and running is always at the top of the list.  I’ve been one of those people.  When I first started working out my goals were centered around running.  Why?  Because that’s what people do when they want to lose weight.  They run.

There’s days when I think throwing on my shoes and going for a run would be amazing but I also know I have other methods of cardio that work for me.  I still kind of wish I was a runner and maybe someday I will be but right now I’m not.  I’ve found I love walking and hiking.  These are my favorite ways to get in cardio.  I would rather walk 5 miles than run for 1 mile but that’s just me.

I’m not bashing running in any way (Please don’t attack me) because I know it has amazing health benefits and for some people that’s their thing. When I first started doing hikes I quickly realized that was my thing.  I felt exhilarated after each hike and continue to push myself to do more.

One of the things I’ve emphasized and continue to emphasize throughout my journey is finding what works for you, whether it’s diet, exercise, career, or any other part of your life find what works best for you.

You don’t have to follow trends or fads, jump into diets, or do workouts you hate.  I’ve been surprised to find I can enjoy healthy food and exercise in ways that don’t make me dread working out.  I don’t have to do what everyone else is doing or follow some traditional path….I can forge my own and I encourage everyone else to do the same.

Find what works for you to stay healthy.
Do what you enjoy for exercise.
It sounds cliche but life is too short to be miserable.  

3 comments

  1. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · August 24, 2015

    I tried running and hated it, but I do enjoy running on a treadmill, but you are spot on

    Liked by 1 person

  2. briana1010 · August 24, 2015

    I totally agree, find something you don’t hate! Because I’ve been injured a few times people give me a hard time for continuing to go back to running, but it’s the only cardio I enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. miusho · August 23, 2015

    Running is fine but, it also burns muscle according to one of my sisters.. she loves to run but you have to combine it with strength exercise. I’m ok with running. Dont really hate it. I want to get back to it but I’m not allowed to lose weight right now. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

