Could you be happy?

I write about body image and confidence from time to time.  This will be a quick post, posing a question.  When you hang out with other women you begin to see how many women are affected by this constant desire to be skinnier, always striving to lose 10 lbs or drop 1/2 a size.  These goals all focused on their weight, looking for happiness in a smaller pants size.

I emphasize “always” and “constant” because it seems even when we’re at a good place we want to lose more.  How many of us have friends who look great but it seems like they’re always talking about trying to lose 5lbs or 3lbs or 10lbs?

Today the question below popped into my head and I began to wonder how many people could honestly say yes.

If you were in perfect health but couldn’t lose or gain weight for the rest of your life, could you be happy?

I would think most people would say yes because you would eventually reach a point of acceptance but I guess that’s kind of the point.  Continue to work on weight loss if you want although I encourage focusing more on health but also work on genuine acceptance of your body and in the process finding happiness beyond your weight or size.

3 comments

  1. Constructing Carrie · August 25, 2015

    The last three years my family has been dealing with TWO family members who went through major, invasive back surgery, and have opted not to fight their way back to an independent lifestyle. It’s really made the change my thinking on what I want for myself, and the answer is- I want to be strong. No matter what else happens with my body, I just want to make sure that I’m strong and healthy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · August 26, 2015

      Sorry about your family members, that’s a difficult situation to be in but it does change your perspective. Makes you evaluate what you would do in similar situations. Strong and healthy is good! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · August 25, 2015

    The answer is yes. Absolutely. Just not unhealthy overweight… you know which one I mean. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

