All by Myself

I thought I would still be sleeping right now.  I even stayed up until after 11PM last night (I know. Crazy, right?) but my plans to sleep in failed miserably and I found myself awake at 6:30 this morning.  On the bright side, I’m enjoying the quiet morning drinking coffee, catching up on my blog reading, and writing while James the cat enjoys staring out the onto the balcony at the birds.

While most people head out on excursions this long holiday weekend I’m planning to do as little as possible.  Okay, that’s kind of a lie because I do have a few things planned but it’s mostly boring household stuff.  I still don’t consider myself completely moved in and have 2 closets bursting with randomness crying out to be organized so that’s definitely on the agenda this weekend.  Also a quick walk to the shopping center by my house to pick up a couple things and to get in a walk today.

As a bit of an introvert I’m looking forward to the time on my own.  I love my friends, enjoy spending time with them, and look forward to future adventures.  I think it’s pretty amazing I’ve managed to keep myself busy every weekend since I moved in but I also think I need a weekend on my own to just settle into my place, a weekend to explore on my own, a weekend to sit in my apartment and watch TV, maybe sit on my balcony and read a book, take a nap, relax, maybe a drink and a little lip syncing to some awesome songs

or maybe just watch Bridget Jones…

It might sound strange to some people but the alone time this weekend will be good for me.  I know people who don’t do well being alone and struggle to keep themselves entertained without other people around but that’s definitely not me. Sometimes my friends don’t understand my desire to be alone.  I’m not antisocial and I’ve come to accept it’s just part of my personality.  Part of my recharging process is alone time whether it’s laying around the house or going out to explore, sometimes I just want to be on my own.

My belief is being on your own builds confidence.  You might have to handle situations without anyone else’s guidance or you might have to be bold and ask a stranger or even just interact with a stranger instead of staying in the comfort zone of friends.  Last week I took the bus, put my phone down, and ended up having a nice conversation with an elderly lady.  I tend to be a bit shy but when I’m out on my own I know I have to rely on myself to be brave.  I’ve known people who simply can’t function on their own.

If you constantly rely on the comfort of company you never learn to depend on yourself.

I’m not saying I want to be alone all the time but I know myself and know I need some alone time.  I also encourage people to enjoy some alone time, learn to realize that alone doesn’t mean lonely.  Sometimes alone simply means you want some time to lay on the couch in comfy clothes, eat popcorn for dinner, and watch season 1 of Psych.  That example might be a little specific but you know what I mean, basically whether you want to go explore the city, go to a movie, go on a hike, or simply lay on the couch all day don’t be afraid of going it alone.

One comment

  1. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · September 7, 2015

    I love my alone time, its rare I get it, but when I do I love it

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

