Fast Food Alternative

I’ve learned recently I can be a stress eater.  Not all the time because sometimes I go to the opposite end of the spectrum and want nothing to do with food if I’m stressed so it’s not all the time.  I will say I’m more prone to stress eating on days like today when I forget my lunch…oops!

Eating peanut butter and string cheese (don’t worry, not mixed together) during the day was simply not enough for me.

A stressful ending to my work day had me dreaming about fast food, not only did I not want to go home and cook but some part of my mind believed I would find some comfort in my binge.   I’m not one to deny myself the occasional treat but I can’t lie to myself, I was planning a full-on binge.  The kind with too many calories, regrets, and promises to do better the next day.

On my drive home I began to think about the food I wanted and how I would feel if I gave into this temptation.

Thankfully I realized it might be tasty in the moment but I would end up feeling terrible.  A bit of shallowness kicked in as well because I’ve been feeling so confident and good with my body that I didn’t want to mess that up.  Also, I realized this was probably not something I wanted to waste my limited funds on today.  If anything, I should have taken $5 and walked across the street to get a sandwich instead of not eating all day then contemplating eating $10 worth of junk.

I decided I had a chicken breast thawed in the fridge so I could make that into healthier chicken strips and I could bake potatoes to make homemade fries.  The plate looks bland but I did eat a salad while I was waiting for the oven to heat up so I did get some green veggies.  It’s not a perfect meal but it’s definitely better than what I was planning to eat so I’m proud of myself for resisting the temptation of fast food.  It’s a good step in the direction of getting back on track with healthy eating.

Also, I’m setting my alarms tonight and planning an early bed time to can get up early to work out.  I haven’t been a fan of the earlier wake up but I think once I do it I’ll be fine plus it’ll feel good to come home at the end of the day knowing I got in a workout.  If I find I don’t like the earlier wake up time then I’ll simply do evening workouts but I’m forcing myself to give early morning workouts a try.  It’s really only getting up 30 minutes earlier than I usually do so I can go do a quick 30 minutes on the treadmill or bike.

As always I’ll keep you guys posted on how it goes.  I’m feeling confident I’m going to be able to start back on the healthy path because I’m ready to get back on track and keep feeling good.

7 comments

  1. Fast Food Lunch · September 10, 2015

    hii there,
    you can choose sandwich/ burger for ur lunch fast food but dont use mayonnaise, and reduced cheese. Because they have high in fat or cholesterol.

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · September 10, 2015

      I’ll definitely do that next time. I struggle sometimes to remember eating no lunch is worse than simply picking a smart fast food option. Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Like

  2. Layla · September 9, 2015

    Night not be the healthiest meal ever, but it’s fresh and homemade and that’s always a plus in my book. I love fries every now and then, but I just normally make them myself as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · September 9, 2015

      I was wishing I had a sweet potato but the white potato worked, satisfied that fast food craving while avoiding the mystery ingredients of fast food. 🙂

      Like

      • Layla · September 9, 2015

        Carbs aren’t evil, it’s the way you eat them that can be evil. It’s still better to eat the homemade kind (no matter what color) then processed or heavy fried stuff. I only have sweet potatoes around because they stay fresh longer then the ‘normal’ kind, otherwise I doubt I would have cared 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · September 10, 2015

        I was more wishing for it because I like sweet potatoes better 🙂 It’s funny because a year ago I never really ate them now they’re my favorite.

        Like

      • Layla · September 10, 2015

        Haha, I had exactly the same. I don’t really care about potatoes, but I love sweet potatoes 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

