Happy Birthday to Me!

Another year older…Another year wiser?  Perhaps.  Although perhaps not because I did go to dinner at a Mexican restaurant knowing there was a very high likelihood I would end up in a sombrero at some point in the evening 😛FullSizeRender (30)

I can’t help but be reflective today, which I’m hoping doesn’t make me all emotional because it really is a positive reflection when I look back on the past year of my life.  One year ago if you would’ve asked me “Where you will you be and what will you be doing one year from now?”  My answer would have been, “I don’t know.”

This time last year I was just finishing up the back to school season at my retail store and beginning the liquidation sales.  I was lucky enough to spend an amazing birthday weekend, drinking too much, and falling down (literally) before facing what would end up being some of the toughest times in my life so far.  Going through the store closing and unemployment changed me, eventually for the better but I did have times I didn’t think I was going to make it to a better place.

I had nightmares of ending up back in retail.

I went through periods of doubt.

I went through a few days of severe depression.

I changed my entire perspective on the town I’d hated for years.

I moved onto a new chapter in my life.

I’m finally starting to feel settled in my new place, making new friends, and learning how to do my job, my dream job. Change is scary but I’m learning to embrace change.  Every single day I do something that pushes me out of my comfort zone and further away from my warm, comfortable rut....honestly, I don’t think I could climb back into that rut if I wanted to because I’ve come so far.

I thought I was going to have this whole epic post about all the changes in my life but I summed it up and linked back to some highlights, plus it’s after 9:00 pm so this old lady needs to get to bed 😉

17 comments

  1. BabetaRuns · September 17, 2015

    Happy happy belated birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Twentysomething Social Recluse · September 17, 2015

    Happy birthday Daisy! I hope you had the best day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ompong · September 16, 2015

    A happy happy happy birthday to you, daisy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · September 15, 2015

    Happy birthday

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Constructing Carrie · September 15, 2015

    Happy, Happy Birthday! Isn’t it amazing where one year can take you? The days go slowly, but the years go so fast!! It’s crazy how being thrown out of a rut can change your whole life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · September 16, 2015

      Thank you! It’s so true. As time was dragging at work yesterday I was wondering how time goes by so fast 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Layla · September 15, 2015

    Happy birthday!!! You had a busy year with loads of changes. All the best for the next year and I’m hoping you’ll stay healthy and happy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. miusho · September 15, 2015

    Happy birthdaaaay tooo youuuuu! Change is scary indeed but when you go through so many changes all the time you tend to adapt. Some faster than others… I’ve been living in my apartment for over a year now and I still don’t entirely feel like “home”… Strange. Very strange.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · September 15, 2015

      Thank you!!!!!!! It can be challenging to settle into a place. I know this apartment isn’t a long-term home but I’m trying to make it as cozy as possible while I’m here, can’t wait to have a place that’s truly my own and not a rental.

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · September 15, 2015

        Rentals are good but not for forever.. I have a rental and what you can change is limited. 😦

        Like

  8. bloominolive · September 14, 2015

    Happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

