The Shift in Mood

As you may or may not have noticed I’ve skipped most of my posts this week.

My only excuse is I’m kind of exhausted.  I feel like this last week or so I’ve struggled to feel well rested.  Part of it is I know I’m getting a cold but I’m doing my best to pretend like it’s not happening while simultaneously attacking it with medicine. The lack of sleep is not helping matters.

Last night it was a combination of neighbors who only know how to stomp when they’re going up and down the stairs, skateboarders, and a sick cat.

Right after I laid down for bed the cat wanted to cuddle.  He then got up threw up on the floor and if he could talk this is what he would’ve said, “I feel better.  Now that we’re both up, want to play?”  because he proceeded to tear through the apartment, climbing into cupboards, and knocking toys around the floor.


I started writing yesterday morning then continued to feel exhausted last night so I never finished the post but decided to pick it up tonight, mostly because the couple posts I’d started this week felt very doom and gloom so even thought I didn’t want to delete everything I’d written I wanted to lighten things up a bit.

It happens every month and since I’m an old lady now I should know the signs but sometimes I lose track of the days then all at once…BAM!  Hormones!

I’m exhausted, cranky, sore, emotional, angry, irrational, basically I embody the stereotype of PMS, yet even as a woman in her 30’s there’s still some part of me convinced I’m dying or am at the start of a cold (Kudos to me for attacking my PMS with Nyquil 🙄 ) when my symptoms begin to emerge.  It’s not that unreasonable.

I’m exhausted to the point that I can’t get out of bed.
Every muscle in my body aches, some worse than others.
This week it was neck and shoulder pain convincing me I had carpal tunnel.
I threw a tantrum because I didn’t have time to sit and enjoy my cup of coffee before I left for work. An adult tantrum, not pretty.
I crave the most horrible food imaginable…mostly cheese and bacon with anything.
I sobbed uncontrollably while watching a movie that was only moderately sad.
I seriously contemplated hiding under my desk because it seemed safe and no one would be able to find me…..and annoy me by talking…or simply existing.

I ate nachos for dinner because all I wanted was cheese but it’s not appropriate or sensible to eat only cheese for dinner so I needed something to go with the cheese.  I should have known that night when I was walking through the store and all I wanted to buy was cheese and cookies instead of cat food and paper towels.

I’m feeling much better today, helps that the weekend is finally here 😀

Also, I’ve planned a close to home excursion for the weekend because I realize I’m missing my photography.  It will be my first solo excursion since I’ve moved over here so I’m really looking forward to it, even though part of me is tempted to curl up in front of the TV in my pajamas.  I think the outdoors will be good for me plus it’s a lighthouse and I’ve never been to one before so I’m excited to get some great shots.

Thank you for all the birthday wishes!  Hope everyone had a great week!  🙂

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Working Wardrobe Wednesday | Transitions in my Life
  2. briana1010 · September 22, 2015

    I know when it’s coming – it’s on my calendar – and I still can’t predict whatever hormonal havoc will be had on my system. Anger? Hunger? Impatience? Sadness? Motherly tendencies? A different combination of all of these things every month. Yay for being a woman. Blech.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · September 23, 2015

      Most of the time I love being a woman but that one week a month is the worst! The weird combination of cravings, emotions, and physical discomfort, ugh.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

