The Fairy Tale

Redbox was kind enough to give me a free rental for my birthday so I wanted to rent Cinderella but of course it was out the day I went to rent it so I went with “The Age of Adeline.”  I felt like it was so close to amazing but fell into the category of good because of the predictability, the moments when it falls into the typical romantic drama plot line.  It was a beautiful movie, the actors are great, and it did make me cry…more than once.  I’m glad I didn’t go to the theater to see it but it’s worth a rental.

The next day I checked every few hours to see if a copy of Cinderella became available near me and finally lucked out.

Random side note:  This was my first time reserving a movie with Redbox and I loved it!  Made the whole picking up a movie process super easy and quick.

My Friday night ritual is to clean my apartment and start my laundry right when I get home.  An hour of cleaning time means the place is clean enough if I want to do more in-depth cleaning projects or if I simply want to run away from home and not feel guilty about leaving a mess.  It’s the last step I need to take to truly be ready for a relaxing weekend.  House clean, popcorn popped, I settled in like an excited child to watch my movie.

I was a bit worried when Disney announced a live action version of this classic but all my worries were put to rest right from the beginning.  As soon as the Disney logo pops up on the screen I’m reduced to a child-like state of excitement. Cinderella is one of the classics.  I would count “A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes” as one of my favorite Disney songs and who doesn’t love Gus-Gus and Jaq.

gus and jaq

Sometimes you reach a moment in your life as an adult where you begin to lose your belief in fairy tales.  The idea of a prince on a white horse arriving is replaced by the reality of evenings alone with your cat.  The idea of a fairy godmother appearing is replaced with the reality that you have to bust your ass for everything you get in this world.  The idea of mice and birds helping with your chores is replaced by the reality that it is not a good idea to allow wild birds and mice into your home.

This movie renewed my belief in the fairy tale.

I found myself swooning over Prince Charming (a less scruffy Richard Madden aka Rob Stark from Game of Thrones) and longing for my fairy godmother.  I even teared up a bit when the fairy godmother (played with fabulous flair by the lovely Helena Bonham Carter) transformed Cinderella’s torn up gown into a beautiful ball gown.  The dance with Cinderella and the Prince made me long for my own Prince Charming to glide me across the dance floor and look at me with his unrealistically blue eyes filled with absolute adoration.

 cinderella-dances-with-the-prince

The cast was perfect.  The movie was shot beautifully.  I thought Lily James was perfect as Cinderella, the right mix of sweet and kind but also strong.  I’m no movie reviewer but I fell in love with this movie and also rediscovered my love of fairy tales.  I’m not going to be holding my breath waiting for Prince Charming or my fairy godmother but I am going to hold onto the idea they’re out there somewhere.  I see so much darkness every day so I needed this reminder that there is still magic, beauty, and goodness in the world.

2 comments

  1. The Twentysomething Social Recluse · September 20, 2015

    I love the new Cinderella movie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · September 20, 2015

      I was really excited for it when I saw the first trailer and it definitely lived up to my expectations. I can’t wait for Beauty and the Beast, think that’s the next in line for Disney live action remakes 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

