Damn the Scale!

Ugh….I haven’t let the scale bring me down this much in ages.  I actually quit weighing myself for awhile, maybe once a week or once every other week but I’d released myself from daily weigh-ins.  I feel like I’ve reached a place where I understand my body enough to recognize changes.  The one week I gained 3 lbs but I knew that before I stepped on the scale but I lost it again and have been steadily maintaining my weight, no loss, no gain.

I’ve been doing measurements and counting on how my clothes fit to guide me but yesterday morning I decided to pull out the scale. I wanted to set a new goal to help push myself to work out more often (still struggling with it but that’s another post).

It showed a number I haven’t seen in almost 2 months and I might have felt it a little bit but not 7lbs.
My clothes still fit.  The day before I was admiring how great I look in my new jeans, which were 2 sizes down from what I was a few months ago.  I was also admiring my whittled down waist line earlier this week.  I felt good.

Yesterday as I dressed for work I found my confidence wavering because of the number on the scale.

This is how psychological body image can be because I felt fine the day before, felt fine yesterday morning until I did my weigh-in then I decided to start analyzing every part of my body.  I quit thinking about how I felt, what I saw in the mirror, all I could see was the number.  I had even done measurements the day before but the almighty scale told me how what my body really looked like to the world.

It’s ridiculous.

The rational part of my mind knows I might simply be bloated and I should also recognize the reliability of that scale is questionable.  I’m frustrated with myself for even allowing it to get to me so much but I guess I still struggle to turn off the part of my brain that equates that number on the scale with how I feel when ultimately it shouldn’t matter.

And it doesn’t.  I got myself dressed for work yesterday morning, looked at myself in the mirror, and liked what I saw so I decided that number doesn’t really matter.  If my measurements aren’t changing, if my clothes are fitting, if I’m feeling confident in my own skin then….

Damn the Scale!

I’ve tucked it back away in it’s corner and will take it out again…someday, maybe 😉  or perhaps I’ll simple let it collect dust in the corner.  I’ll count on measurements and how my clothes fit to track changes in my body but mostly I’ll just focus on how I feel, which today is happy and confident.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!!

13 comments

  1. howsitbe · September 30, 2015

    Getting rid of scales is one of the best things I’ve ever done for my body image. I would only use them publicly (if I was feeling ballsy enough) or at the doctor. After a few years, I inherited one in a marriage, and now I could practically care less what it has to say. lol!

    Good luck, Ms. Daisy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 1, 2015

      For some reason I just can’t bring myself to completely throw it away but the more comfortable I get with my body the less I use it so I think I’m getting closer to the place of just letting it go. Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Like

      • howsitbe · October 15, 2015

        That’s so good. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your journey!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · October 15, 2015

        Thanks for reading my journey! 🙂

        Like

  2. Sassyfitnesschick · September 28, 2015

    It is wise to only use it occasionally and remember its only a tool…not an indicator of your overall health and wellness. You are learning if you rely on smaller clothes that fit you and declining measurements. Our weight can jump greatly even in a given day. I did an experiment on the scale for a day and did a blog called “The Scale Experiment”. You can check it out to see how my numbers bounced around. Good for you for not getting discouraged and keeping the positives in mind!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · September 29, 2015

      I don’t think I read that one so I’ll have to check it out! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. miusho · September 27, 2015

    I have a scale but… I don’t even want to look at it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · September 27, 2015

      Don’t look at it!!! Hide it in the corner or if you’re extra brave just do away with it once and for all.

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · September 27, 2015

        I’m not looking.. I stuffed it under the sink… 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ompong · September 26, 2015

    I agree with you, don’t use the scales… Just feel how happy and confident you are. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Chrellie · September 26, 2015

    If you are exercising, you may be gaining muscle but not losing actual weight, though your clothes fit well. Try to focus in your goals and big picture, it’s a journey. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Layla · September 26, 2015

    I don’t have a scale for that same reason, although I’m on the other end of the scale. I think that if I was to weigh myself I would get depressed about not gaining. As long as you feel good and your clothing fits well as your dropping sizes that’s most important.

    Liked by 2 people

Share your thoughts...

