Responsible, Healthy Grown up

My restful weekend has unfortunately hit a few snags.

Friday night I was awakened at 2AM by partying neighbors, a girl cackling loudly like a drunken seagull, a guy trying to rap, another girl constantly proclaiming how drunk she is even though I can’t even see her but I think it should be apparent without the proclamation.

As I lay awake listening to their drunken conversations I couldn’t help but think this was Karmic payback for all the neighbors I’d kept awake during my partying days.  It was annoying but I gave them some time to quiet down but if it would’ve been a weeknight security would have been called within the first 15 minutes.  Thankfully after less than an hour all was quiet once again.

Last night I went to bed early but woke up in the middle of the night because my stomach was angry.  I won’t go into details but my stomach was rumbling and grumbling like a thunderstorm.  I’m still not feeling 100% today and am too scared to eat anything beyond crackers so I’m trying to decide if maybe it was a mild case of food poisoning or just a 24-hour flu.  I know if I’m not feeling better soon I’ll be planning a trip to the doctor.

This illness is forcing me to do what I’ve been procrastinating about doing since I moved, which is finding a doctor.  I realized last night as I thought I might be dying that I don’t have a clue where the nearest hospital is located.  Obviously if it’s a serious emergency an ambulance could come pick me up but to avoid over paying for a ride to the hospital I’ll drive myself if possible.

I took the time to find a couple of veterinary options but have neglected my own health so right after this post I’m going to be researching doctors, optometrists, and dentists.  I’m running out of contacts.  I’m convinced all my teeth have cavities.  I haven’t been in for a check up in almost a year.

It’s time to be a grown up (something I try to avoid) and check in with people who can help make sure I’m staying healthy.

On a more random note, I have no couch and I’ve been surviving without but realize I really miss having a couch.  Luckily my friend is going to loan me her couch.  Her boyfriend is moving in and part of the compromise is using his couch so her couch was on it’s way to a storage unit so she was kind enough to offer it to me.  I thought maybe they would bring it by yesterday so I could spend today lounging on my new loaner couch but they should be bringing it by today…just not sure when but I’m not complaining.  It’s a free couch with free delivery so I’ll be patient.

It’s on to research for me.  Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend and hopefully I’ll soon be posting pictures of my new couch!

Share your thoughts...

