Meal Plan Monday

I usually have an image for Meal Plan Monday but James the cat was so helpful writing the list last week I thought he should be featured 🐱

It’s Monday!!!  Actually all the exclamation points are because Monday is over 😀  but unfortunately for me it means Tuesday is up next.  For some reason Tuesdays are my bad days but I’m trying to remain optimistic.  I faced a hurdle I knew I was going to face today but didn’t quite make it over so the problem will carry over into tomorrow but it’s all learning experiences.

I constantly remind myself that if this is the job I really want I have to overcome my fears and skydive out of my comfort zone into the unknown but this is a topic for another post so it’s onto the food.

IMG_9914First I’m going to share my latest snack obsession, apples with cinnamon.

One morning I sliced up an apple and threw it in a plastic bag then remembered I scraped the last bit of peanut butter out of the jar the day before but I didn’t want a plain apple.

I sprinkled some cinnamon into the bag and shook it up.  Instant snack.  I recommend refrigerating them for a little bit before eating, I found I like them better chilled.

I say it’s a snack obsession because once I find something I like I will eat it until basically I can’t stand it anymore so I’ll let you guys know when I’m onto the next snack but for now it’s all about apples.  I think the snack is perfect for fall.

End of last week I made slow cooker lentil soup.  I lost the recipe I’d used before so I looked up a recipe online then I did what I (and the rest of my family) do best, I decided to wing it 😉

It came out pretty darn good and is one of those dishes that was almost better as leftovers.  Hearty, filling, hot, perfect for the chilly fall weather.  Diced tomatoes, ground beef, celery, carrots, onions, beef stock, cumin, chili powder, garlic, and of course, lentils.

2 Lentil Soup Tomatoes2 Lentil Soup Ground Beef2 Lentil Soup Carrots
FullSizeRender (31)It made a big pot of soup so I decided to freeze about half because otherwise I think I would’ve been throwing away some soup at the end of the week.  You can only eat soup so many days of the week even if it is delicious 😀

I think I might start up a trend of doing a slow cooker meal over the weekend.  The recipes are usually easy, low maintenance, and make the house smell delicious all day.

My only groceries this week will be fruit, rice, and spaghetti.  I’ve been on the frivolous side with my spending so I’m reigning it back in and enforcing a strict cash only policy for myself but that’s another subject for another post.

Wishing everyone the best of weeks!  I’m trying to get into a writing schedule to post more consistently during the week so we’ll see how it goes.

Monday

Monday is over but I had Cream of Wheat for lunch because I forgot to pack something but thankfully I keep extra provisions in my desk in case of a lunch emergency.  Dinner was leftover lentil soup.

Tuesday
Lunch:  Lentil Soup
Dinner:  Pasta with chicken

Wednesday
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner:  Lentil Soup

Thursday
Lunch:  Salad
Dinner:  Cauliflower something….

Friday
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner:  Rice with veggies and sausage

Saturday
Dinner: Spaghetti

Sunday
Dinner:  New Recipe to be revealed later this week after I peruse my cookbook.

3 comments

  1. miusho · October 8, 2015

    My husband has the same thing with snacks.. He’ll eat (or drink) it until he’s sick of it…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 8, 2015

      I do the same thing with songs, if I find a favorite song I listen to it on repeat until I’m sick of it

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · October 8, 2015

        That’s one thing I don’t have.. I get bored easy so I need a variety of things to keep me busy… or maybe its the variety that makes me bored. 😮

        Like

Share your thoughts...

