Fictional Character Attachment Syndrome

Even when I think I’m caught up on all the popular TV series someone asks if I’ve seen some show and I have to give the answer I always give which is “It’s on my list” because it usually is but unless I did nothing with my free time beside watch TV I could never watch all the TV shows on my list.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not against a good binge but after a day or two I find my attention span waning and begin to long for sunlight and fresh air.

It’s amazing how attached we can become to our TV shows and the characters.  I say this because I tried to watch an episode of “How I Met Your Mother”, which I haven’t watched since the season finale.  I was going to try to write this without spoiling anything but I don’t know if it’s going to be possible so I’ll precede this post with a

**Spoiler Alert**

You might also want to stop reading if you haven’t watched the latest season of Grey’s Anatomy.

Back to “How I Met Your Mother”.  I remember when a guy from work (that I totally had a crush on) introduced me to the show.  It was funny and quirky.  I loved it and still aspire to have a relationship like Marshall and Lily. They were so perfect together, definitely one of my favorite TV couples although I think Jim and Pam from “The Office” still top that list.  I loved that they had so much fun but also fought and had struggles that made them seem more real.d5babacad052f62f1c4367f403867663

I knew the show was going to come to an end eventually as all good things do and I tuned in with millions of other people to watch the final episodes then go, “WTF?!?

I sobbed and was so mad at the show for ending how they did because we go through this whole amazing story of how he meets the mother and then she dies!!  I haven’t been able to watch an episode since because when I try to watch reruns I can’t help but think “What’s the point? I know how this is going to end.

After watching the end it just made the whole rest of the show feel pointless.  I never thought I would be that person because I recognize these are fictional characters but I became so attached to their story that when it ended how it did I was hurt.

I experienced this again recently with Grey’s Anatomy, which I’ve only recently begun to watch again after last season’s tragedy.  The episode in which Derek Shepherd dies broke my heart.  I’m only moderately ashamed to admit I sobbed and yelled at my television, “No! No! No!  This isn’t happening!” but it was and next week when I sat down to watch the next episode I couldn’t do it.

derek

I was mad at the show.  It was weird to find myself once again so emotionally attached to a character that I would give up one of my favorite shows because of his death.  I realized I’ve been watching the show for the past 10 years.  I watched the development of this character, watched them kill off other characters but I thought he would always be on the show so when he was gone I was ready to give it up.

Last weekend I finally watched the last few episodes of last season and the new episodes so I’ve forgiven Shonda Rhimes for now but I think the series has about run it’s course, although I can’t imagine it really ending.

Shows can’t last forever but it’s okay because it makes room for new shows, like this hidden British gem a coworker recommended.  The main character is Miranda Hart.  She also plays Chummy on “Call the Midwife” but in this show she’s herself and super funny.  It reminds me of some of the old school British comedies like “Are you being served?” and “Keeping Up Appearances.”

It only aired for 3 seasons but it’s amazing and hilarious.  It makes me so happy, helps drag me out of the depression when other shows are killing off my favorite characters.

Hope everyone is have a lovely Sunday!  I’m going to see what my favorite characters are up to on Netflix  😀  Anyone else give up a show or find themselves upset after the death of a favorite character? Any favorite shows you’re binging on right now?

One comment

  1. miusho · October 8, 2015

    Romeo and julliet DIED. I don’t want to die yet! Boooo!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

