Meal Plan Monday

Last night I was 2 clicks and a credit card number away from ordering pizza and chicken bites covered with cheese and bacon but thankfully I stopped myself.  It wasn’t only about the unhealthy factor of the food but the money.

I sat staring at the total for a few minutes, $17.44 so when you add in a tip, $20.00.  I began to think of how many meals I would get out of this indulgence and realized probably 2-3 meals so my next step was to think of how much food I could actually buy for $20 at the grocery store.  I closed the browser window.  I took out a little box of frozen cauliflower with cheese and ate that plus a salad for dinner then began to plan my meals for the week.

I was reminded today that $20 at the grocery store will go far beyond 2-3 meals.  Today I spent around $30 but if you take away the cat food pretty much right at $30.

I bought 2 boxes of spaghetti, a 1lb box of brown rice, a small block of cheese, strawberries, bananas, 2 cucumbers, a bunch of asparagus, a head of lettuce, a box of bowtie pasta, 12 pack of flour tortillas, 1 dozen eggs, 2 cans of tomato sauce, 2 tomatoes…..I think that’s everything but basically this was a better use of my money and will feed me well beyond 2-3 meals.

The veggies and fruit will get me by for the next week to week and half while the pasta and rice help replenish staples in my cupboard so next payday I can stock up on some meat.  In the moment I really wanted pizza, actually I really wanted easy I don’t have to cook or put in any kind of effort food but I’m so glad I made the better choice.  I’m really trying to think through my purchases better and plan for the things I really want, like a real bed or things I need, like new contacts or mascara…wait, mascara might go in the want category….either way I’m really trying to reign in my spending.

It’s never been my strong suit but I think my saying that is part of the problem.  I think it’s like any other goal in life, if you already think you can’t do something it makes it that much harder to actually achieve.  I’ve always told people, “My brother is the saver and I’m the spender” like I can’t change my spending habits, like I haven’t already changed my spending habits.  I have changed, so I need to recognize the change, and continue to move away from past financial mistakes.

Anyways….what is the title of this post?  Oh yeah, the meal plan 🙂  Simple as always but I’m going to try some new recipes over the weekend, once again trying to get back into trying new foods.

Monday

Dinner: Pasta with tuna

Tuesday
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner:  Chicken tacos with rice

Wednesday
Lunch:  Wraps with chicken leftovers
Dinner:  Breakfast for dinner

Thursday
Lunch:  Salad wrap with tuna
Dinner:  Spaghetti

Friday
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner:  Take-out

Saturday
Dinner: Pasta with roasted red pepper sauce (Trusting I get up early Saturday to pick up ingredients)  This is a recipe from my Thug Kitchen cook book and it looks amazing!!

Sunday
Dinner:  Slow cooker Soup-Still deciding which one I want to do but I’ll share the recipe once I have it.

14 comments

  1. Nena · October 9, 2015

    Smart to plan meals ahead;) Something I have lacked recently, but you just reminded me to get back to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 10, 2015

      It’s a good thing to do, mine are simple but it helps keep me on track without meal plans I tend to either skip meals or eat junk

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nena · October 10, 2015

        Yes, exactly

        Like

  2. Pingback: Working Wardrobe Wednesday | Transitions in my Life
  3. Dr Meg Sorick · October 6, 2015

    Meal planning at the beginning of the week is essential to healthy dieting and budgeting! If you know what you’re going to eat and you prepare ahead, there is less chance of straying from your good eating habits and wasting money on an unhealthy meal!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Twentysomething Social Recluse · October 5, 2015

    All of these meals sound really good. Pasta with roasted peppers sounds particularly delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 6, 2015

      Thanks! I’m really excited about that one because it’s different from what I usually cook. The sauce is made from tofu, something I never would’ve thought of as a base for a sauce but it should be yummy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ompong · October 5, 2015

    I think I’ll drop by your place on Thursday… you’re serving tuna and spaghetti! A couple of my faves…Hehehe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 6, 2015

      Ha Ha I like to keep it simple and it doesn’t get any easier than spaghetti 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ompong · October 6, 2015

        I like my spaghetti with meatballs… See you on Thursday, daisy! Hahaha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · October 8, 2015

        I just saw a recipe for meatballs with mozzarella inside so you might have to wait until next week, ha ha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ompong · October 8, 2015

        Hahaha! No problem… You now owe me two platefuls of spaghetti! 🙂

        Like

  6. gary loggins · October 5, 2015

    Eating less junk and exercising more often has helped me drop 20 lbs since March…now that the cold weather is arriving I’ve got to get more gym time, since long walks will be out of the question (especially since the sun will be setting by the time I get out of work).

    Liked by 2 people

    • Daisy9979 · October 6, 2015

      Great job! I’m in the same boat, would much rather be outside but winter is coming so it’s into the gym I go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

