Working Wardrobe Wednesday

Today the day was gray, cloudy, and rainy.  I decided what would go best with gloomy, gray weather is a comfy flannel shirt.  Not to stereotype too much but it’s like the uniform of the Pacific Northwest 😄  It might be about a size too big but I actually got compliments on it so it must not have looked too awful.  Next time I hope I can wear it with a vest I plan to purchase.  Remember last year when I tried on a vest that made me look like a marshmallow, well I found one with less fluff last week so that will soon be part of my regular wardrobe.   FullSizeRender (33)

Skinny jeans and boots round out this fall uniform.  It was comfy, warm, and perfect for a rainy day.  I will point out that I’m lucky to be in an office with a very relaxed dress code best described as business casual, heavy on the casual.

I wore a blue tank top underneath, kept it a bit unbuttoned, and rolled up the sleeves so it looked more feminine, less lumberjack 😉

I find myself wanting very badly to go shopping but like I said yesterday in Meal Plan Monday I’m trying to budget and save for things I really want.  This includes clothes.  I’m choosing to shop around and plan the pieces I want to buy rather than impulse buying a bunch of clothes.

Monday I initially put on a pink shirt, light cardigan and the pink/orange necklace but it just didn’t work for me.  It was a bit too bright so I found a plan tee with some flecks of pink in it so I could still wear the necklace and went with the black cardigan.  I think it’s fun to dress up a plain tee with a fun necklace, adds some personality. FullSizeRender (32)

I wore this with jeans and flats but it could easily work with slacks and heels.  Going back to my desire to shop, every time I think I need new clothes I manage to dig something out of my closet I’ve never worn to work.  I realize I don’t need new clothes I need to keep a better inventory of what I already have in my closet.  There’s probably two or three wardrobes sitting in my closet right now so hopefully I can keep adding variety.

The last outfit is a shirt I bought then didn’t wear for a long time.  I bought it on clearance at Old Navy and actually think it’s a maternity shirt but it’s comfortable and looks dressy.  The shirt is long enough so I can wear it with leggings and boots so it’s almost like a shirt dress.  I’ve worn it with a white long sleeved shirt underneath and it really changes up the look but it was kind of warm so I went with just a cami.  One of my favorite parts of this shirt is the pockets!

FullSizeRender (35)

That’s what I got for this week.  I’m hoping to get back to making this post a regular feature but we’ll see how it goes.  Many of my mornings last week I felt like I barely had time to get dressed much less take pictures of my outfits but I’m back to organized this week and even planned out my outfits for the next few days.

Hope everyone is enjoying the week.  I’ve been struggling this week but it’s the week that happens every month when I think I’m going to die so I’ll get through it but I’m really looking forward to Friday.

6 comments

  1. Pingback: If You’re Happy and you know it…. | Transitions in my Life
  2. Nena · October 9, 2015

    You look awesome in all the outfits!! My fave is the last one;)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Layla · October 8, 2015

    I love the shirt!! I actually love all the outfits 🙂 Looking good!!

    Like

  4. Dr Meg Sorick · October 8, 2015

    Cute outfits! Especially the last one. I love that shirt! I’m a very unimaginative dresser but one thing I have started doing is adding cool pieces of jewelry to my otherwise plain outfits. Queen of the black cardigan, here. Don’t get discouraged! We all have “those” weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 8, 2015

      Thanks Meg! Me too on the jewelry and I love my black cardigan 😀 I have been searching for a new one since my favorite one is starting to get a little worn. Thankfully it’s sweater season so there’s lots of options just need to find the perfect one.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

