Work, Work, Work

Sometimes I get so frustrated because I get scared and doubt myself.  I struggle to trust my own instincts and this week made me realize I need to do that, also I need to focus.  I don’t want to be selfish but I cannot worry about other people.  I have to worry about me.  

I need to focus on what I want to do with my career.
I already know I am a “rut person.”
I find a comfort zone and I settle.
I move in all my furniture.
I hang pictures on the wall.
I close the doors.
I burrow into my comfort zone and stop.

I’m not at a place in my career where I can stop.  I’m in a temporary position that can technically go away at any time with little to no notice.  This week I made some major steps toward finding my niche and also trying to make sure I end up with a permanent position in this department.

Even though I’ve only been in the job a couple of months I found my comfort zone, people I go to for questions, jobs I enjoy doing, and trying to find ways to avoid jobs I don’t like.  I’m forcing myself to step out of my comfort zone and over the next couple weeks I’m really going to work on standing out and stepping up.

Today I made progress by volunteering to help out with a group at work, possibly taking over the group by the end of the month so it will be mine to run.  I applied for another position and continue to hunt for more within the department (my boss already knows so it’s not like I’m sneaking around).  I asked about going with someone to learn more about their job just so I have a better idea of how all the processes tie together.

I’m refusing to let myself settle into a new comfort zone.

tumblr_luxe030QPh1r61fd5o1_500_large

This is the opportunity I wanted, the opportunity I received, and I don’t plan to blow it so I’m changing….

Next week I’m changing and leaping out of my comfort zone.  I recognize one of my challenges is finding my confidence, especially when I’m uncertain.  I tend to shy away from difficult situations when I need to confront them.  If I never make myself face challenges I’ll never conquer them so I’m off to enjoy the weekendbecause next week it’s back to work with a whole new attitude.  “The time to hesitate is through” 🙂
empire-records-cochrane

9 comments

  1. miusho · October 18, 2015

    The more you can do, the more confidence you gain! You can totally do it! You’ve been doing a lot lately so you can do this too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 19, 2015

      Thank you! I really needed this comment this morning. I felt so much more confident on Friday night than I do right now on Monday morning….Friday I wanted to take on the world, Monday I want to sleep in 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · October 19, 2015

        But.. isn’t that just you overthinking things? You know you can do it but you’re worried you’ll mess it up?
        We all mess up once in a while. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · October 20, 2015

        *sigh* You know me so well…..It is just me overthinking and worrying that I will mess up but I have to remind myself of what you said and ignore the crazy perfectionist in my head :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · October 20, 2015

        You’ve done it before, you can do it again! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. gary loggins · October 16, 2015

    Getting out of one’s comfort zone is the first step towards growth. I’m about to take on a brand new job in another two weeks, leaving the agency I’ve been with for six and a half years. I got this ! So do you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 17, 2015

      Thanks for the positive words! It really helps. Change is scary but it’s also exciting. We got this! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thelovelymissquinn · October 16, 2015

    Woo-hoo!!! That’s the spirit! I can’t wait to see your progress! I’m doing the same thing in my life. It’s crazy terrifying but I think it’ll be fun too. I want to document my progress here on my blog and I hope you do the same. Reading about other people on a similar journey really helps keep me motivated and restores some of my faith in humanity in general. I just keep thinking, “If they can do it, so can I.” And when they stumble a bit, encouraging them feels like giving back.
    You got this! You’re gonna kick next week’s ass! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 17, 2015

      I also find it helpful to find other people going through similar situations, it lets me know I’m not alone in what I’m going through. Thanks for the encouragement and good luck on your own journey! I’ll be following along! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

