Working Wednesday….without the Wardrobe

New thought.  Don’t panic!  This is not becoming a clothing optional blog, ha ha 😉  Sometimes the post will be about clothes, sometimes about working.  This is Working Wednesday without the wardrobe……

I was at my other job so long I had sort of lost my ability to care or to feel truly excited about anything involving work.  I’d seen the company go through so many cycles and changes something new would roll out and I would just say “It won’t last”  I was jaded, extremely jaded.

I remember new associates coming in with bright spirits.  They were excited to learn everything and every day was a new adventure.  Some even had ideas about how to make changes, ways to improve processes or contests to inspire people.  They were enthusiastic and optimistic….and I hated it!

Anyone else remember this cartoon?  Chester, the little dog, running around Spike, the big dog, asking “What’re we gonna do today Spike? Huh?”

This cartoon illustrates (without the slapping of course) how it was with new associates.  It was so annoying, their smiles, their ideas, their belief that the company was great……I was Spike and new associates were Chester.  Well, the tables have been turned on me.  I am now Chester running around the office with optimism, enthusiasm, and most days ready to take on the world.

It’s funny because I’ve now been on both sides.  I’ve been the “hardened seen all aspects of the job” person and now I’m the “happy go lucky anything is possible” person.  I actually prefer the latter but in my past I wasn’t just jaded I was completely burnt out.  There’s a difference.  I think it’s impossible to not become slightly hardened or jaded when you’ve been in a position for a long time but when those feelings turn to hatred or burn out it’s time to go.

I’m not going to lie and say this job is all sunshine and rainbows because it’s definitely not.  I’ve never been more challenged on all levels in my entire life, emotionally, mentally, physically.  I’m dealing with situations I never would have imagined I would deal with in my entire life.  There’s day when I have more doubt and fear then I ever want to admit but each time I push myself through I get a little bit stronger.  I learn.  I grow.  I do my best not to make the same mistake twice.

I started this post this morning and when I went to work today someone told me I was a good candidate for a position because I’m upbeat, have a good attitude, easy to work with, show up on time everyday, and I do my job.  It made me feel good because I have an interview on Monday (let the nerves begin) for a position in the same department, different unit. I’m excited and if I get the position I’ll have a whole new set of people to annoy impress with my optimism! 😀

One comment

  1. Dr Meg Sorick · October 22, 2015

    A good attitude makes a meh job a whole lot better! Glad you found your enthusiasm again. Best of luck with the interview!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

