Another Adventure :)

As I headed out on I-5 yesterday heading toward Seattle I had one of those moments where I find myself questioning if this is really my life.  I’ve talked about it before but I spent much of my life dreaming about living in Seattle.  I blame many, many trips to Seattle to visit family and the 90’s.  The 90’s were all about grunge and the epicenter of grunge was Seattle.  I spent my teenage years listening to Alice in Chains, Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Soundgarden, Hole, Beck, Stone Temple Pilots, etc.  and some of my favorite movies were Empire Records, Singles, and Reality Bites.

I wanted the cute apartment in the building with all the quirky tenants or the artsy loft, the angst ridden rocker boyfriend, and of course an awesome soundtrack to tie everything together.

I think I have a pretty awesome soundtrack, the cute apartment, and I’m not as keen on the angst ridden rocker boyfriend anymore because as a grown up I see a guy like that as an out of work Peter Pan (I don’t wanna grow up!).  As I was driving along seeing the signs for Seattle I found myself giddy with excitement because Seattle is less than an hour away but I also found myself feeling like less of a tourist.

This is where I live now and I’m continuing to make myself explore.  My friend has lived in this area for several years so she’s great at coming up with plans for close-to-home adventures.  This weekend was Green Lake Park and I have to say I was very proud of myself for not getting completely lost.

We were meeting at the Starbucks but instead of mapping myself to it I knew parking would be my downfall and lead me into frustrated road rage, so I researched parking then mapped myself to a parking lot.  It was about .5 miles away and FREE!  I did get a bit turned around when I first left the parking lot and did an extra lap around the block but on the way back went straight to my car.  I also struggled a bit to get back on the interstate to head home but the weird thing was I felt a bit annoyed but didn’t completely panic like I usually do so maybe I am starting to get used to dealing with crazy traffic and not knowing where I am all the time, ha ha 😄

It rained most of the time when we were walking but it was a nice three mile walk plus all the extra steps put me well over my step goal yesterday.  FullSizeRender (43)It felt good to get out, take some pictures, and spend time with a friend.  Green Lake is a beautiful neighborhood.  We spent the walk gushing over the lavish houses and all the adorable dogs.  It really made me want a lavish house and a dog but all in good time 😀

Here’s some pics from yesterday! I have more up on Facebook and will have more later this week.  My Sunday has really flown by and I spent most of my morning at the mall so now it’s time to settle in for some serious interview prep.

10410953_1038835239489745_7231695538885824384_n1 Pink Glowing Flower 1 Red and White 2 1 Green Lake Trees

2 comments

  1. Dr Meg Sorick · October 25, 2015

    Oooh, yeah! Good luck tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 25, 2015

      Thanks Meg! I’m trying to do some prep now and feeling super nervous for some reason. Hoping a little more prep and a good night’s sleep will have me feeling ready to go! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

