Little White Lies

Do you ever lie to yourself?  I do and if you say you don’t you might be lying right now.

I allowed myself to almost fully immerse back into my bad habits with the help of a few little white lies.

“Eating Wendy’s one day isn’t too bad.  I don’t want to seem antisocial and I’ll bring a healthy lunch tomorrow.”
“Eating a few pieces of candy every single day at my desk isn’t bad, little treats are okay.”
“It’s a cream cheese based dip but it has spinach and I’m eating it with vegetables”
“It’s Halloween.  Everyone is having candy.”
“It’s okay to eat tacos at the bar even though I had a huge meal at the potluck for lunch.  I’ll get back on track tomorrow.”

It all boils down to rationalizing, going with the crowd, and making promises to myself that I rarely keep.  Promises of tomorrows and healthy lunches.

This morning as I put on my previously loved lucky interview pants I realized they did not fit as well as they did at that first interview.  They still fit but they’re definitely a bit more snug in the waist band.  I pulled out the evil scale because despite my aversion to it, sometimes it is necessary.  For the last week or so it hasn’t been hiding it to stop myself from obsessing, it’s been avoiding it so I don’t have to see the truth.  I stepped on and the truth was revealed…..

Grazing on food all day
+ Ignoring sugar content
+ Meals out
+ Inconsistent work outs
= 6 pounds

It’s not the end of the world and I’m not one to completely beat myself up but I do have to be honest with myself about my habits.  I allowed myself to just eat whatever I wanted because it was there instead of choosing the right foods. I’m not making excuses but working in an office there really is food everywhere, almost all the time.  Yesterday there was a fundraiser for a food bank and they were selling caramel apples.  I knew it wasn’t a good idea but it looked so delicious and everyone else was buying one so I caved because I wanted it.  It was way too sweet and I only ate about a quarter of it but I really didn’t need it at all.  Potlucks, cookies, doughnuts, random snacks, plus I have my own office and desk so I can snack whenever I want, temptation is everywhere but I have to get back to resisting that temptation and making better choices.

This morning I looked in my fridge I had to accept that this embarrassing mess is part of the problem.

IMG_0307

When I looked into this fridge yesterday I had no idea what to grab for lunch partially because it was tough to even see what was in there, so tonight that is at the top of the to-do list.  From there it’s making meal plans for the week, cleaning out the snack drawer at work, and not just going with the crowd for lunch at work.  If everyone else goes out to eat I can just say “Let me know when you’re back and I’ll eat with you because I brought my lunch.”  It’s all about choices and for me, being honest with myself.

I’ll have another post about working out and my plan of attack for improving that aspect of my lifestyle but right now it’s really the food that I need to get back in line with so I will definitely have meal plans on Monday and hopefully a cleaner fridge….

On a happier note…..It’s finally Friday!!!!

8 comments

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday | Transitions in my Life
  2. Pingback: Step it Up & Stop Lying | Transitions in my Life
  3. ThirtyPlus1andBeyond · October 31, 2015

    I recently lied my way into an additional 4 lbs on top of the 10-15 I was already trying to lose. 🙂 Always good to have someone to work out with to help you stay motivated. It’s tough to say no to group lunch outings, but you can do it! Good luck! I’ve recently gotten back on the fitness bandwagon myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 31, 2015

      Thanks! Unfortunately it’s easy to get sidetracked and tough when there’s so much temptation everywhere especially with Halloween this week but I’m jumping onto the fitness bandwagon with you! We got this! 🙂

      Like

  4. keen peach · October 30, 2015

    Haha! I’ve told lies like that pretty recently here. Can’t wait to see you plan of attack. I’m with you girl 🙌🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 31, 2015

      Thanks! It’s easy to tell those lies sometimes so now I’m trying to be done with the lies and back on track! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Dr Meg Sorick · October 30, 2015

    Hang in there. It sounds like your workmates could follow your good example instead of the other way around. Find an office buddy to take a walk with at lunch time! Maybe you’ll inspire others to join you. There is an office complex close to my neighborhood and every day at lunch, about a dozen men and women walk by at noon! Happy Friday and have a great weekend! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · October 31, 2015

      I have a walking buddy but we struggle to get out everyday but hopefully we can start going more often. I’m definitely feeling motivated and ready to become the good influence in the office rather than the one who just goes with the crowd! Have a great weekend! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

