Meal Plan Monday

Monday really lived up to it’s reputation today.  A weird mix of good and bad with all the craziness happening at the very end of the day so I can’t leave on time, plus it’s dark when I leave work now 😦

I wrote last week about getting myself back on track and to stop telling all the Little White Lies.  I think I will definitely have my challenges but I also know I can do this and I saw today I have the potential to have a positive influence on my office mates.

Today one of my office mates came by asking about lunch and where we should go but I said I brought my lunch.  The woman next to me said we could eat together but she also brought her lunch.  Her compromise was that we could all go out on Friday for teriyaki if we ate lunch in all this week.  I might not go along on Friday for financial reasons and because I have plans to go out Thursday night but I thought this was a great idea.

My office mate went to Wendys and another brought in a burger and fries.  There was some part of me that really wanted burger and fries but I knew I would not be happy with myself.  Also, there’s no way I’m going to reach my healthy goals if I keep allowing myself to eat whatever I want to eat.

I have to retrain my brain to eat healthy foods before I’m completely off course.  If you imagine you have to follow a certain path to eat healthy I think I was on the path but kept letting myself wander off to sit down in the woods and have a picnic of junk food….

If that doesn’t make any sense, I’ll just say I’m back on the path.

Tonight I came home.  Tired.  Cranky.  Frustrated. Good news is I jogged in place Flashdance style for about 5 minutes to burn off some frustrated energy.  Bad news is I did not want to cook dinner.  Back to the good news, chicken is in the oven, water will soon be put on to boil for rice and veggies, all mixed together with a bit of soy sauce.

Delicious, healthy, happy dinner…and this is the plan for the rest of the week.  Nothing fancy but the plan helps keep me on track.

Snacks for this week include apples with peanut butter, bananas, pretzels, grapes, baby carrots with vinagrette, celery with peanut butter.  I try to pack at least one snack per day and if I have healthy ones on hand, makes me less likely to go looking for whatever is available.

Monday

Lunch:  Soup
Dinner: Chicken, veggies, and rice

Tuesday
Lunch:  Pizza (Our office won a contest but I’m going to do my best to only have 1 piece then maybe eat the carrots I didn’t eat today)
Dinner:  Leftovers from Monday

Wednesday
Lunch: Chicken tortilla soup
Dinner:  Pasta with tuna and broccoli

Thursday
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner:  Going out

Friday
Lunch: Wrap with spinach, cream cheese, chicken lunch meat, and side of veggies w/dressing
Dinner:  Homemade Pizza

Saturday
Dinner: Tofu Tacos

Sunday
Dinner:  This is going to be a winging it kind of day, might try a recipe with whatever I have on hand in the fridge.  Worse case scenario…or maybe best case scenario, spaghetti 😀

Share your thoughts...

