Working Wardrobe Wednesday

FullSizeRender (46)I don’t know why I look so scowly in this first picture but if I had to guess it was because I bought this super cute lace/crochet tank top for only $2 thinking it would be cute under a little cardigan but it wasn’t working for me.  Instead of trying out some things the night before I waited until I was getting ready for work in the morning 🙄

I have to say I loved this shirt when I tried it on in the store and especially loved it when it rang up at only $2.  I think it will be perfect for summer but I would like to get some use out of it this winter so I began to experiment.

First it was with a black tank top and black sweater but I think the neckline of the tank was weird with the neckline of the cardigan so I moved onto plan B.

I think I might try to find a tank with the same high neckline and see how that looks with it but in the mean time I’m using what I already have hanging around in my closet so I decided I needed to get closer to the color, which is a pale grey.

The look below worked but there was still something off about it.  I felt like everything matched and should have gone together but it still didn’t look right so I’m going to keep experimenting with this shirt.

FullSizeRender (47)
I had $15 super cash from Old Navy that I had been saving for the perfect vest and Ta-Dah!  FullSizeRender (45)I found it!  I tried on an XL but it was a bit snug and the point of the vest is to be able to layer it over other clothes so I wanted to go up a size but had to scour the store for about 10 minutes before finally finding my size.  Vest mission accomplished! 😀

It’s one of my favorite pieces now and I have to say I will wear it with practically anything.  This weekend it was a light pullover, yesterday at work it was a thermal, and a flannel.

It’s warm, comfortable, and already worth the money, which with the super cash was only about $15.  Yay!

This morning I found this sweater lurking in the back of my closet.  I love the fit but am still questioning why I bought a sweater with a jaguar on the chest.  I’ll probably wear it on the weekends but after some deliberation I decided it’s not going into my work wardrobe.  
IMG_0343T
oday I wanted to feel cute and girly.  Lately, I feel like I’ve been craving pink and cutesy the way people crave chocolate.  I think my job is in the masculine category so I find myself working to maintain my femininity without overdoing it.  I went simple, black cardigan, striped tee, and my favorite jeans….the cat shrug is a bit much so I took it off before I left for work XDIMG_0344

Hope everyone is having a lovely week!  It’s been good here but getting cold so my wardrobe is all about layers, so I’m working on finding ways to bundle without looking bulky.  I should have some new looks next week!

5 comments

  1. Dr Meg Sorick · November 5, 2015

    Looking good! Not the jaguar sweater, though! 😀 Imagine me in my Clinton Kelly voice: “Oh sweetie, you are much too young and hip for that!” I thought the lace tank looked nice with the lighter layering tank underneath, but you weren’t feeling it, so… maybe a light colored cardigan, too? Pfft, I don’t know why I’m giving you advice, all I ever wear is black! Have a great Thursday and a better Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · November 6, 2015

      Thanks Meg! I might try a lighter cardigan that’s a good idea. Yes, Clinton Kelly and Stacy London would not be a fan of the jaguar sweater, although I talked about it at work and one of my coworkers really wants me to wear it. I might wear it one Friday but I’ll wear it with the vest so I can zip it up and hide it 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · November 4, 2015

    I honestly wouldn’t give a damn if the job was more masculine or not.. as long as your clothes don’t get in the way, it shouldn’t be a problem. Right?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · November 6, 2015

      You’re right and it’s not. It’s just my weirdness of wanting to fit in but also be true to myself. Some days I want to wear flannel and boots, other days I want to wear hot pink and it shouldn’t matter as long as I’m doing my job properly

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · November 7, 2015

        I used to be in that state of mind too.. I’m slowly getting over it. If it fits and looks good on you? Wear it!
        …. as long as it isn’t vulgar or distracting..

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

