Birds and Exciting News

The highlight of this morning, so far, is the arrival of a new bird on my balcony.  A Northern Flicker, a type of woodpecker.  I thought I spotted him yesterday but this morning was a couple of confirmed sightings and blurry pics.  Yep, I like watching birds.  Most of the time I just get the little ones but it’s exciting when I see a new one, hopefully I can get a good pic of him soon.

Anyways, that is not the exciting news I was going to share.

I got the job!!!  The job I applied for that moves me from a temporary employee to a permanent or regular employee!!  I realize I’m still low on the totem pole at work but at least I don’t have to worry about my job disappearing for any random reason with as little as one day’s notice 😮  That part was scary.

Now I can breath a little bit easier.

When I was applying for jobs it was such a struggle because I was going into a field where I had zero experience.  I recognized someone with even a month of experience would be placed ahead of me and it was tough.  I wanted to give up because I began to reach a point where I thought it was hopeless and I would end up like Matt Foley……

or going back to working in retail

I really didn’t want to do that so I’m beyond grateful that I was given an opportunity, a foot in the door to show that, despite my lack of experience in the field, I am capable of doing this job.  It was up to me to prove myself and getting this new position means I’ve done that, used my foot in the door to get myself all the way inside.  Yay!  😀

It’s easy for me to sometimes feel regret for not getting here sooner but maybe I wasn’t meant to be here sooner, maybe right now is the time I’m meant to be where I’m at in my life.  Talking with my mom I mentioned getting feedback on my last interview so next time I’m up for a promotion I will do better.  I got the job so I obviously did okay but the feedback is important because I know I want to stay on this career path.  I see potential and opportunities.  I can see myself working my way up and eventually retiring.  In my past job I didn’t see all those options so even though it’s taken 10 years longer than it should have I’m finally on the right path and continue to be excited for the future.

I’m doing my same job for the next couple of weeks then will begin to transition into my new position.  I’ll be in the same building, same office even just a different unit and I can’t wait to get started.  Along with this I’ll have some minor changes to my meal plans because I’ll be working an earlier shift so I might start adding in some breakfasts.  The best part is I think getting off work at 4 will make it easier to get in a workout at night because I’ll have an hour before dinner.

That’s my news so I’m off to plan my meals for the week, do laundry, and clean my apartment since yesterday I was glued to my couch all day.  Gray, rainy, dreary days just call for movies, popcorn, hot tea, heated blankets, and naps but the rain has lifted for the moment so I think I will unglue myself from the couch and maybe even venture outside for a bit.

9 comments

  1. miusho · November 11, 2015

    I may be late with this but still.. happy to see you’re finally getting where you want to be! Congratulations! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · November 11, 2015

    Fantastic news, well done

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Constructing Carrie · November 10, 2015

    CONGRATULATIONS!! That’s so exciting! 🙂

    Like

  4. Dr Meg Sorick · November 8, 2015

    That’s awesome! Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda Youngblood · November 8, 2015

    Congrats!! I know you will be great at this job !!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Layla · November 8, 2015

    Congrats on the more permanent position! I hope I can follow in your footsteps not to long from now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

