The Tiny Apartment

As I tripped over James the Cat in the kitchen the other night I cursed at my tiny kitchen, although to my kitchen’s defense cats are constantly trying to trip people.

I also swore at the air the other morning getting ready in the bathroom that is about the size of the bedroom closet in my last place…actually might even be smaller.  I cursed my lack of counter space and ability to move about without running into something.

Thankfully at some point over the last week I came to a place of peace and contentment with my small apartment.

I had to once again remind myself to be grateful with where I’m living right now.  It’s not the nicest place and it’s not the worst.  It’s expensive to live in this area but I recognize I could be paying the same or more for less square footage.  This week I began to appreciate some of the benefits of living in a smaller apartment.

Easier to Heat

Winter is coming….(sorry, I can’t resist).  As a longtime apartment dweller I’m very good at the game I call “How long can I wait until I turn on the heat for the first time?”  My goal is November but there’s always those couple cold days in October when I catch the cat trying to put on a sweater so I break down and turn on some heat.

ga090112As I turned on the heat in the living room for the first time I realized less square footage is much easier to heat.  30 minutes on the comfort zone setting and it’s like a sauna.  I’m still playing with the settings but I’m hopeful I won’t have to take out a loan to pay for heat or resign myself to sitting around in multiple layers, I save the layers and snuggie for the arctic office temperatures.

ya0agg

I considered a snuggie for the office but I’m hopeful that moving around more with the new job will keep me warm.

Easier to Clean

Less space, less to clean.  I have one less room to clean now so it makes it easier to clean up in a hurry especially if I keep things picked up during the week.  Even if I let my apartment get to the point of messiness that I consider disastrous it only takes about 30 minutes to clean.

Less Stuff 

I’ve learned I can live with less stuff.  At the time of my move I felt like I was giving up so much but when I really think about it I don’t miss the stuff I sold or donated.  I brought plenty of stuff with me and could probably stand to lose some of it.  This weekend I finally started getting more serious about organizing my apartment and want to get to a place where I feel like I’m really making the best use of my space.

The longer I live here and the more time I spend putting everything in it’s place the happier I am in this apartment.  Each month that passes I begin to feel more and more at home in my surroundings.

Anyone have any tips for living in a smaller place or any benefits you’ve found to living in a smaller place?

3 comments

  1. Constructing Carrie · November 15, 2015

    I don’t have tips, but I can totally commiserate with the “turning the heater on for the first time” game. I don’t know how it is where you are, but here the heater is off for so many months that the fire alarm inevitably goes off during the first heater run. It’s so embarrassing, no matter how many people it happens to! I’ve tried covering my smoke alarms with towels, using a hair dryer to divert the air, opening windows…haha 🙂 What’s a person to do??

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · November 16, 2015

      I usually only set off my fire alarms when I’m cooking, ha ha 😉 . My heaters smelled a bit when I first turned them on here but thankfully no smoke 😀

      Like

      • Constructing Carrie · November 16, 2015

        haha 🙂 Yeah…I think by the time we turn our heaters on, so much dust has built up that it takes a few minute to burn off.

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

