Bah-Humbug

Social media comparison.

It can be so annoying, especially during this time of year as you watch friends posting pictures immediately after Thanksgiving of lights all around their house, stockings hung, Christmas cards in the mail complete with letter detailing every amazing event each family member experienced during the past year, perfectly manicured trees decorated in a monochromatic color scheme….seriously?!?

I often wonder if these people know of a secret 800 number you can call to get elves to come help with all your holiday decorations.

elf_4lg

Not only are the stockings hung by the chimney with care but everything needed for the magical Christmas morning is bought, wrapped, and waiting under the tree…again, seriously?!?

Also, there’s pictures of extraordinary feats of baking.  Who has time to make that many sugar cookies?  Plus my news feed fills with pics of the evil Elf on the Shelf……creepy bastard.

elf-on-the-shelf-11

Perhaps I’m simply being a bit of a grinch84b494d8-c81a-4445-b6a2-0fdc697cfdd7

or a scrooge

1983-mickey-greed-scrooge

because I feel like such a slacker.

Only two weekends left until Christmas and I have no decorations up, no presents purchased, barely even vague ideas of what I want to buy for people, and grand plans to make some baked goods for work but wondering when that is actually going to happen.

The reality is I’m struggling to find my Christmas spirit.  4d9245e2396e9857af8b2c534d48f084

Even when I have the time I lack the desire to decorate or shop for presents.  For some reason it just feels like work and it’s making me feel overwhelmed, adding to what already feels like an enormous to-do list and I haven’t quite figured out how to shake it.

I know one thing I need to do is stop comparing myself to everyone else, which I know is good advice in all aspects of life.

Work is having a holiday event this week and I’m supposed to go shopping with a friend on Sunday.  I’m not sure pushing my way through crowds at the mall will be the best way to get in the holiday mood but perhaps spending time with a friend will help.

I have to remind myself that the holiday season is not all about presents, not all about how much stuff we receive on Christmas day but more about appreciating what we already have and appreciating the people in our lives.quote-grinch

I don’t think I could find a present or estimate a dollar amount to put on a gift card that would sufficiently express to all the people in my life just how much they mean to me, how much their support helps, and how much I value the time spent with them even if it’s only a moment.

As usual writing helps put things in perspective, perhaps tonight I’ll dig out the lights…..

giphy1

8 comments

  1. itsgoodtobecrazysometimes · December 13, 2015

    I think having children forces you into the christmas spirit. Certainly before I had my son, I don’t think I put up a tree for a good five years

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · December 14, 2015

      I love Christmas but it’s definitely more difficult to get into the spirit of it without children. As an adult it’s easy to get caught up in the negative side of the holidays, crowds, spending money, feeling too busy, travelling, etc. instead of focusing on how amazing and fun Christmas can be so that’s what I’m trying to work on, finding the fun 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. briana1010 · December 8, 2015

    I didn’t get a tree this year since we moved to a small, 3rd floor condo, and I’m jealous every time someone posts a picture of theirs!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Daisy9979 · December 9, 2015

      Me too! I almost bought a small tree the other day then realized I have no room…maybe next year 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. miusho · December 7, 2015

    Still no tree or presents either.. the thought of having to put it all away again is too dominant. 😮

    Liked by 2 people

    • Daisy9979 · December 9, 2015

      I have no room for a tree 😦 unless I put it on the balcony but as I discovered last night there’s no power out there, which is annoying. I did finally put some lights up and it helped a little with restoring a bit of Christmas spirit

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · December 11, 2015

        I have the room but it would require me to make room and put other stuff away. 😦
        The lights are nice though. They make the dark a little but more bearable. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

