Sick Day

I’m such a baby when I’m sick.

It’s the worst.

Instead of being a grown up and figuring out that I could simply call in sick to my supervisor I decide to simply show up to work.

I did this partially because I wasn’t sure of who to call but also because some part of me was hoping I would have a miraculous recovery on the way to work (despite the fact that my stop at the gas station on the way to work made me feel like passing out).  What actually happened was I spent most of my 15 minutes at work in the bathroom before returning to my office to stare at my desk when someone asked me what was going on…..at which point I burst into tears…

jess-puppy-sobbing

My lead gave me a hug and told me to go home, which I did, running out the door hiding my red puffy eyes with my scarf.  I am not one of those “pretty criers”

tumblr_le2v5kh6k61qbn3rro1_500

My eyes instantly turn red, my skin becomes splotchy….I won’t say I’m an “ugly crier” but it definitely isn’t pretty XD
tumblr_inline_nyy6ouldi51sxcdrp_5001

It’s not just the physical appearance I worry about but the fact that crying is equated with weakness so now I worry that everyone in the office now thinks I’m a crybaby.  Okay, I kind of am but I try not to show that side at work.

Part of the crying also comes from guilt because I tend to feel like if I’m not missing a limb or unconscious I should probably be at work.  Today though I was running a fever and I’ll spare the details but I haven’t really been able to keep food in my body.  This morning it was crackers and Gatorade but I had a bagel a little bit ago and so far, so good.

I’m thinking either a touch of a stomach bug or too much sugar.  I definitely had too many sugary treats Wednesday and Thursday. Either way I’m sure I’ll be all better tomorrow.  I keep thinking I’m feeling better and should be at work but then I move around and realize, nope, still sick, so I think it’s back to bed for me.

I have fun plans this weekend so I’m hoping whatever this is passes quickly!  Hope y’all have an excellent Friday and a wonderful weekend!

 

3 comments

  1. miusho · December 13, 2015

    You should think of it like: “if its contagious, I can infect my colleagues so I better stay home”.
    I don’t stay home easily but sometimes you just have to. 😛
    Also, when you’re ill you tend to make more mistakes which is also not a good plan. 😉
    Hope you feel better by now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · December 14, 2015

      I’m trying to get into the mindset that I’m finally working at a job that understands sometimes people get sick and doesn’t make you feel guilty for calling in….plus like you point out I’m sure my coworkers appreciate me staying away when I’m sick.
      Spent 2 days sleeping, eating crackers, and drinking lots of water, finally woke up yesterday feeling like a human again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · December 15, 2015

        Yes, your colleagues will be very grateful. I know I would be. 😉
        Good thing being sick isn’t a weekly happening.. not much work would be done. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

