Christmas Spirit and a Mushy Meltdown

I finally found a little bit of my Christmas spirit but it took awhile and a complete meltdown.

I was guilty of getting caught up in the negative side of Christmas.  The idea that not only must you give more presents but those presents must be bigger, better, shinier, more creative but also expensive and impressive.  I can’t afford expensive and impressive and wasn’t feeling very creative or crafty this year so after a quick shopping trip for Christmas gifts I was feeling down.

I walked in the door, sunk to the floor, and had a little cry.

During that little breakdown I forced myself to think about past Christmases, presents that stood out to me, and (this is the mushy part) what really stood out to me were the memories, not the presents.  This is the first year in a long time I might not make it home.  I realized I just wanted Christmas with everyone together but life changes and it becomes more challenging each year to get the entire family together.

I decided the only way to make it through this holiday season was to do what must be done in any difficult situation, focus on the positive.  I realized I have to quit wallowing in my own little Grinch themed pity party.  I had to quit doing this….

tumblr_mxmvjsrmqt1t0nl4mo1_500

I have basically one whole side of my family on this side of the mountains plus more than one friend volunteered to take me in on Christmas if I found myself stranded.  Also, everyone who knows me knows I just moved, just started a new job, and don’t have tons of money right now, so I don’t think anyone is expecting cars and diamonds….oh, and if you’re reading this and that’s what you were expecting, sorry!   😄

Enough with the mush, on to the picture portion of this post!

At the end of last week I decided to create a Post It note Christmas tree and have been adding to it this week.  Today it was a few more tiny snowflakes and a snowman….it was a slow day at work.  IMG_0855.JPG

At home I also decided to put up some lights but was very disappointed to find no outlet on my balcony 😦  That didn’t stop me so I employed a bit of creativity to hang up a couple strands of lights on my front windows.  IMG_0832.JPGIMG_0833.JPGTonight I became super ambitious and decided to make a batch of peppermint bark! FullSizeRender (52).jpg I planned to make one more batch but forgot to buy another pack of white chocolate so that will have to wait until tomorrow.  Plus after running errands, cooking dinner, making bark, and writing, my evening is done!  It’s bedtime for me!  Hope everyone is having a great week!  I should have a Working Wardrobe Wednesday post up tomorrow.

7 comments

  1. sunshinesbeauty · December 20, 2015

    Your work window is beautiful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · December 22, 2015

      Thanks! I’m stuck inside so often it brightens up my day 🙂

      Like

  2. Juni Desireé · December 18, 2015

    Hi, sorry I didn’t have any other way to contact you but like this.

    You let me include some of your words in a book and I’m super excited and so glad to announce to you that Fall in Love with Writing is published!!!!!!!

    Yay, it’s available on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com.au/gp/product/B019CDRZXA?%2AVersion%2A=1&%2Aentries%2A=0

    It’s only available as an ebook as I don’t have the resources to print hard copies any time soon.

    I didn’t want to wait and do nothing and I’m not looking for the perfect best-selling book; I’m just learning as I go and doing what I can now.

    Don’t worry if you don’t have a Kindle, the Kindle Cloud Reader is free and allows you to read Kindle books (I don’t think it’s compatible with Android platforms though). I’m looking at making it available through Google Play and as a pdf too.

    Thank you so much for letting me include your words. I really hope you love the book!!!

    Let me know what you think of it and any ways I could improve it. And if you have the time to leave a review on the Amazon page, that would be awesome. And to keep updated with everything, please like my writer’s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/junidesireewriter/

    Look forward to perhaps working with you on a sequel one day – hehe!

    JD

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · December 18, 2015

      Thanks so much for letting me know! I’ll definitely be checking it out this weekend and sharing with my readers. Congrats on getting the book published! 🙂

      Like

      • Juni Desireé · December 18, 2015

        Thank you so much!!! So glad I could include you. It’s been amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Cheyanne · December 17, 2015

    Glad you were able to refocus on the positives. There’s so much to be grateful for. Like peppermint bark! Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · December 18, 2015

      Definitely grateful for peppermint bark and I think my coworkers were too…The batch I brought in yesterday was devoured by the end of the day. Merry Christmas! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

