Being Offended by Someone Else’s Personal Preference

Catching up on my blog reading this morning and this was one of my favorite posts. Everyone perceives the world differently, has different experience, and has their own preferences. I think the world would be a happier place if we learn to recognize someone else’s preferences is not always a direct attack on our own preferences.

Thirty Plus and Beyond

I always preferred taller men over shorter men.  It was just always a preference of mine.  I wanted to be able to lay my head in his chest when we hugged lol.   It’s just what I liked.  You don’t always date someone who falls under the physical characteristics that you like, but God did just so happen to send me my husband who is 6’3″.

On the other hand, I have come across those who were offended by that as if I had wronged shorter men by stating that I preferred someone taller than me.   I never not dated someone because of their height, but I mean, that was my type.   How dare someone state their physical preference I guess, right?  But, I was stating what I personally liked just as you probably state what you like, so what’s the issue?

Have you ever seen someone simply…

View original post 647 more words

One comment

  1. eduardolibby · December 20, 2015

    Your words are so right! Stating our preferences is so common at group conversations that I guess trying to say them is human nature. In person we are polite and joke but the distance and effective anonymity of the web can make for some inelegant expressions… And you didn’t even try to state your favorite soccer team!!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

