Stress

This feels like the norm for me lately, feeling stressed but trying to hide the fact that I’m stressed.  Suppressing my stress is making me feel discombobulated (I love that word) and a bit “off my game”  It’s this strange feeling like something is amiss with the universe but I don’t know exactly what it is so my theory right now is stress.

I’m worried about so many things but I’m trying to keep myself calm and in the process I think I’m losing my mind…okay, not really but I am making myself a little crazy.

loco1

The job….

I’m still new so I constantly worry about my performance even though I’ve been reassured multiple times I’m doing a great job and if I wasn’t I would be hearing about it.

The holidays…

I’m not going home this year and it’s rough but I know it’s the best decision.  As of this morning the pass was once again closed both ways because of avalanche danger and heavy snow fall.  Below is a snapshot from their traffic cam……

090vc04680

They say it will possibly be reopened at daybreak but there’s also power outages everywhere.  Over the weekend I almost decided to just brave it but this confirms staying here is the best option.

I didn’t book a flight early enough so it was too expensive, basically a variety of mostly travel-related factors combined to make getting home extra challenging.

I’ve been telling coworkers and friends I won’t be all alone in my apartment eating candy canes with James the Cat and crying (Although you might see a picture of that because I keep talking about it) because I have family over here.  Christmas Eve will be their big get-together so that will be fun.  It’s been years since I’ve spent Christmas with this side of the family so it’ll be good.

I was stressing over what side dish to bring but decided on simple green beans with olive oil and garlic.

I was stressing over what to wear but have some ideas from my own closet and will also make one quick last minute trip to Target.

I was stressing over bringing a gift for the gift exchange but picked up some hot chocolate, cookies, and a mug to make a little gift bag.

Okay, I did spend about an hour wandering around Target trying to find something clever and original but it’s tough to find a gift for the age range teenagers to grandparents.  I was going to do like a movie gift bag with popcorn and a cute Christmas movie but couldn’t decide on a movie then couldn’t decide Blu-Ray or DVD then decided no one watched movies on disks anymore so after overthinking that choice I went back to the hot chocolate.

I’ve been writing this post over the week and it’s time to wrap it up.

I’ve been working late all week and I’m going in a little early this morning so I can leave early this afternoon.  I planned the leaving early when I was going to be driving home and was going to just work regular hours when my plans changed but it was already on the calendar.  Plus it’ll be good so I have time to change and make the side dish and maybe even relax for a minute before I head out into Christmas Eve traffic 😮

Hope everyone has a Merry Christmas!  Happy Holidays!

kevin-home-alone-merry-christmas-gif

 

2 comments

  1. koolaidmoms · December 24, 2015

    Merry Christmas! Hope your stress lessens once you get to the gathering. I am sure that no matter what you wear or bring the best gift for them will be to see you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · December 25, 2015

      Thanks! Merry Christmas! It was fun! There was really no need to stress. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

