The Resolutions

It’s easy to be lazy.

It’s easy to kick back on the couch, drink coffee, and watch Netflix all morning.

It’s easy to pretend like you’re doing everything you can to meet your goals when in reality you’re doing the bare minimum.

Last year I decided not to make any resolutions because I was already in the process of making serious changes in my life.  I shared what I wrote in a journal the year before so this year I will share a link to last year’s post, Resolutions.

This year I’m excited to celebrate the big changes in my life, new job, new city, new friends, new mindset but with all the celebration I recently realized I quit setting goals.  I didn’t stop thinking about things I wanted to do but I haven’t written anything down or taken any steps to actually accomplish the goals.

I was inspired by lists from a couple of different bloggers, 30 things when I’m 30 (prt 6) from Clean Cheater and  What are your dreams? from Juni Desireé.  Reading through their posts made me realize I didn’t have anything I was working toward, nothing tangible I wanted to accomplish, no dream I wanted to fulfill, so I realized that needs to change.

  1.  Continue to work on my health
    1. Work out at least 3 times a week
    2. Go for a hike or a walk that’s more than 2 miles at least one weekend a month
    3. Keep track of my eating for one month.  I hate tracking my food but I have an app and I think it will help me as I continue to refocus on what I’m eating.  I know it was a great kick start for me last time so I’m going to use it again starting tomorrow.
  2. Continue to promote my photography
    1. Set up a shop on Etsy or maybe Razzle to sell my photo cards and maybe some prints
    2. Post on my Facebook photography page at least once a week
    3. Post on my photo blog at least once a month
    4. Do at least 2 photo shoots each month
  3. Save money
    1. Revert back to the Plan.  The Plan was something my mom and I made up when I was having money problems in the past.  I’ll probably do a post on it but share some of the highlights as part of my goals.
    2. Work on paying off all credit cards.
    3. Create a budget, plan for all expenses.  I’ve lived here long enough to understand how much I’m spending on everything as well as a good idea of where I’m overspending so it’s time to get serious.
    4. Use more cash, less card.  Easier to overspend with a card.
  4. Continue to map my career path
    1. Learn everything possible in my current job
    2. Explore what opportunities are available
  5. Quit being a hermit
    1. Say yes more often.
    2. Don’t be afraid of new people or new experiences.

My goal setting just happens to coincide with the new year, although I’m planning to kick things off a little early by starting tomorrow.  I think if you’re inspired and motivated, why wait?  It doesn’t have to be a Monday or a new year or a new month.  It can be the middle of March on a Tuesday if that’s when you feel inspired to start making changes.

Technically I am starting today with number 5.  I’m supposed to go watch the football game with my cousins but I’m not really feeling like going out.  I don’t want to say I’m forcing myself but I told myself I needed to go for at least an hour to visit then I really want to I can leave.  It’s the getting out of the house thing that’s most challenging for me but I’m going to do it and it’ll probably be fun.

These are the big goals I want to focus on as we get ready to start a new year.  Nothing overly complicated just five goals with a few steps to help me reach each one.  I’ll be writing out a list with more specific details for my own personal use but this list is the foundation.

Feel free to share your goals or tips for staying on track and accomplishing goals.

11 comments

  1. Pingback: Turning off the Tube | Transitions in my Life
  2. Pingback: A Hike to the Beach | Transitions in my Life
  3. Pingback: The Stages of Weight Gain | Transitions in my Life
  4. Pingback: The Plan | Transitions in my Life
  5. Juni Desireé · December 30, 2015

    This is soooooooo cool!!!!!!!! Love it. I just find if I’m not sure of my goals, I end up doing nothing. Sometimes I look back and realize I’ve done nothing for a very long time. Years. So, I’ve found writing them down and really thinking about my goals actually makes me do them. I’m not sure I would have written a book if I didn’t set a goal. Anyway, rambling. Wishing you well with all your resolutions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · January 1, 2016

      That’s where I was at, I didn’t have any goals written down so I was doing nothing. Goals are definitely important. I’m already feeling more motivated 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday | Transitions in my Life
  7. Layla · December 28, 2015

    I think these are great goals to work up to, they also seem very realistic, which is always a good thing when it comes to goals. I would love to hear about your money plan 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Constructing Carrie · December 27, 2015

    I desperately want to make goals, but I can’t think of anything past “make next year better than this year.” It seems to encompass a lot!! haha 🙂 Your goals are great, and you’ve really made an action plan to work towards them, which I think is the most over-whelming part! I would love to hear about your money-saving plan, and posted links to your facebook and etsy photography!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. keen peach · December 27, 2015

    I am so glad you made resolutions!!! These are great ones!! Yes, I made one. Limit internet time to one hour besides blogging. Good luck Daisy! You got this!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

