Meal Plan Monday

I decided to make some resolutions this year and I’ll keep adding to the list

Let’s add under number one:
Take my vitamins every day.
Make health appointments I’ve been putting off, dentist, doctor, optometrist.

It’s another short holiday week so I decided I’m going to try something different this week for Meal Plan Monday.

In an effort to save money I’m going to be digging through my cupboards, listing all the ingredients I have to work with then simply making meals from those ingredients.  I’m not going to plan any specific meal for a specific day and the only things I plan to buy this week are spinach, cauliflower, mozzarella cheese, and salad.

My hope for doing it this way is to be more creative with my menu and also to help me see I don’t need to grocery shop every other day.  Plus it’s fun to mix things up every so often 😀  Not having what I want to eat is different from not having anything to eat (If I repeat this enough it might finally get through my head).  If I want to get serious about saving money this is a big step.

Being close to so many stores makes it easy to walk over or stop on the way home from work to pick up a couple things.  The problem is I go over for two things and walk out with 7 things or 20 things so it’s time to stop the impulse grocery shopping.

broccoli
whole wheat spaghetti
spring mix salad
green pepper
red pepper
tuna
can of chickpeas
tomato sauce
rice
fresh green beans
spinach
frozen veggies
hamburger
1/2 cup lentils
sweet potatoes
mozzarella cheese
cauliflower

This is my list of the main components of my menu for the week. I have sauces, flour, some basic pantry staples on hand. My fridge and cupboards are not overflowing with food but looking at this list already makes me realize I have plenty of food on hand to feed myself without making extra trips to the store.

I’m keeping track of what I’m eating so hopefully I’ll share what I come up with during the week. I made homemade pizza Saturday night so last night I finished up the last couple pieces. Tonight I’m hoping to get off work on time so I can run to the store for the items listed above and nothing more, then get in a workout (I’m taking my workout clothes with me so I can just go right when I get home), and make some dinner.

I’m a day late but hope everyone had a good start to another short work week! 🙂

7 comments

  1. Pingback: The Stages of Weight Gain | Transitions in my Life
  2. Pingback: The Plan | Transitions in my Life
  3. The Twentysomething Social Recluse · December 30, 2015

    Everything you make sounds delicious! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cheyanne · December 29, 2015

    Oh my gosh! You have SO MUCH FOOD!!! I would make a batch of spaghetti with steamed broccoli and hamburger one day, a spicy/curry soup with chickpeas sweet potato and cauliflower the next day, tuna sandwiches with a salad the next day and this soup the fourth day http://ohmyveggies.com/lentil-stuffed-pepper-soup/

    Oh, and just snack on those fresh green beans 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cheyanne · December 29, 2015

      Problem is you need onions and garlic. :/

      Like

    • Daisy9979 · December 29, 2015

      That all sounds so yummy! I read your next comment and have garlic, will pick up an onion at the store 🙂 Thanks for the ideas!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

