A Hike to the Beach

Late Thursday night I received a text from my best friend asking if I wanted to go for a hike or walk on Saturday morning.  My original plans for the weekend involved mostly Netflix so going outside sounded really good.

Our plans evolved into a sleepover at my place on Friday.  We went out for dinner then enjoyed one too many drinks, watched movies, and had so much fun.  We had a bit of a late start and didn’t leave my place until after 10AM.

I suggested a place I’d looked up online a couple weeks ago, Meadowdale Beach.  It was less than 20 minutes away and looked beautiful plus I’m in love with the fact that I’m so close to the beach.  It’s quickly become one of my favorite place to explore.

From what I read online the hike was about a mile to the tunnel that opened up to the beach and that sometimes the tunnel was flooded.  Signs posted as we drove up indicated the tunnel was closed but we went forward anyways just to check it out.

It was a beautiful wooded hike down to the beach.  It was colder than we planned for because we were in the shade the whole time but I knew hiking back up we would be grateful we weren’t too bundled up.

The hike down was a little over a mile then we came to the tunnel.  The water wasn’t deep but it was flooded so we were faced with a dilemma.

Option 1:  Turn around, hike back, and check out the beach next time
Option 2:  Run through with our shoes and socks on
Option 3:  Run through barefoot in the icy water
Option 4:  Find a way around.  The tunnel sits below railroad tracks, a fence surrounds the railroad tracks, along with several intimidating “NO TRESPASSING” signs.

Option 1 wasn’t even really an option.  We’d come too far to just turn around.  Option 2 would mean hiking back up the hill in wet socks and shoes.  Option 3 was the most viable option in the moment so while onlookers gave us the “you’re crazy” look and wished us luck I removed my socks and shoes.

0004razzle.JPG

The picture above was on the other side of the tunnel.  I was going to take a pic while we were in the tunnel but all I could think about after that first step into the icy water was getting to the other side before hypothermia set in.  It was cold but a quick jaunt through the tunnel and…..11235440_1076055945767674_1574165047556548936_n.jpg

The ocean, the mountains, the beach, the sun.  It was beautiful and well worth 30 seconds of frozen feet plus afterwards we warmed our toes in the sand.

12472240_1076054359101166_8056731954233157392_n.jpg

The hike back to the parking lot was kind of brutal for me but it was a good reminder why I need to do more hikes, more walks, more workouts.  It probably didn’t help that I was suffering from a slight hangover…not vomiting in the bushes hungover, just a little tired and headachy hungover 😉  We took a few breaks on the way up and I was so happy to finally see the parking lot.

Despite the brutal climb up I drove home with a sense of accomplishment.  I was reminded of my first hike and all the adventures I went on after that first hike.  There’s so many opportunities over here and I love that even in the middle of the city I can drive less than 10 miles to find a hike in the woods that leads to the beach.

This is just the beginning….As I wrote in my resolutions I will be going on more adventures and taking more pictures.

I’m taking a lazy day today to get some of the boring household stuff done, laundry, cleaning, etc..plus the Golden Globes are today!!  I love awards season!  Also, I can’t wait to see Ricky Gervais offend everyone 😄

Have a great rest of the weekend!

P.S.  Check out more of my photography on Facebook

5 comments

  1. Janice Wald · January 23, 2016

    Hi,
    I know Tony. I watched the Globes. I liked Ricky. Your hike sounded scary.
    I met you on Danny Ray’s site. Congratulations on being his featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too! Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · January 23, 2016

      Nice to meet you Janice! Tony is awesome and so is Danny. It’s great to meet fellow bloggers 🙂
      I loved the Globes and can’t wait for the Oscars. I wish Ricky was hosting, not too sure about Chris Rock. The hike was exciting!
      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll definitely check out your blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Janice Wald · January 23, 2016

        I didn’t know Chris was. Thanks for telling me. I will look forward to your visit.
        Janice

        Like

      • Janice Wald · January 23, 2016

        I enjoyed talking entertainment with you. I was going to be an entertainment blogger I like it so much.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Featured Bloggers 1/22/16: Networking 101 | Dream Big, Dream Often

Share your thoughts...

