Coupons and Stocking Up

My weekend budget was $20 but unfortunately my plans ended up being laying on the couch feeling miserable so I spent my weekend budget on medicine, cat food, toilet paper, and a few groceries.  I also picked up mascara because I had a coupon and mascara is in my necessities category (don’t judge).  I don’t think I’ll ever be a crazy coupon lady but I find myself using coupons more and more often.

I used to throw away the coupon pages I get in the mail but now I find myself perusing the ads for items I buy or items I will use.

I don’t have any interest in spending hours each week couponing but I have respect for the people who do it successfully to buy items they need or will use.  I’ve watched some of the crazy couponing shows and think it’s great that you can buy 30 packages of diapers for pennies but if you don’t have any kids or plan to donate them then…why?

One of the keys to discount shopping, bulk shopping, or using coupons is buying items you regularly buy or items you will use.

Don’t fall into the “it’s a good deal” trap. 

I’ve said it before if it’s something you won’t use it’s not a good deal.  Coupons and discounts can be great for stocking up.  I’m not out of mascara yet but when I do it’ll be nice to have one on hand.  It’ll be extra nice to have the kind I like and know I paid only $3 instead of $6 because I used a coupon.  I’m going to keep clipping my coupons.

I used to struggle with remembering to use the coupons because I was impulse buying.  Now I’m planning my shopping trips so I have coupons ready to go for items I plan to buy.  I clip the coupons and set them aside in one of two envelopes, one for groceries and one for miscellaneous (usually beauty products, shampoo, makeup, etc.).  When I plan my list I check my coupons and so far it’s working out.  I used to think it wasn’t enough to be worth the effort but 50 cents or $1 off makes a difference in the long run.

I’m also really close to many of the major stores for groceries.  I have Winco, Walmart, Safeway, Grocery Outlet, Trader Joes, Target, and Costco all within a 5 mile radius so I’m going to be working on more comparison shopping for my groceries.  It means a little more planning but it’s worth it to save money, especially on meats and produce.

This part of the month is always the biggest struggle for me but I know after putting gas in the car I shouldn’t need to buy anything else this week.  This is the between paychecks time so I have money “left over” so I feel the need to either spend it or pay more on one of my bills.  Yesterday I wanted to pay more on one of my credit cards but I reminded myself I already paid them for the month.  Rent eats up the majority of my next check so it’s important for me to set some aside from this check.

I have to stick to the The Plan.  I have to trust and believe in my budget.  Right now I feel like I’m on the right track but I also know I’m quickly led astray by the temptations of shopping

This is how I envision my shopping trips…

clueless-shopping-scene

But I know this is the reality…..

anchorman-i-immediately-regret-this-decision

…so I must focus.  In the moment it’s fun but then the bills roll in.  I received an email from Old Navy about free shipping and great deals in store.  I was tempted for a minute and I do have a $10 gift certificate….but no!  I’m staying strong so I can be rich…6356878958897990211245000294_url

Okay maybe this is more realistic….anigif_enhanced-buzz-9660-1389711218-5

Have a great Sunday 😉

4 comments

  1. Layla · January 18, 2016

    I watched ‘Extreme Couponing’ on tv and I’m surprised how this works. We have coupons or discounts, but we can’t stack them like they do in the tv-show, usually it’s a max of x-number of items per person. Then again, I sometimes feel like peope buy 300 bottes of sugared ‘vitamin’ water just so they can get them for free. But I think it’s a good thing to use them, as long as you only buy the things you really need instead of buying them because you have a coupon for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · January 20, 2016

      I’ve watched that show too. It definitely feels like some people buy things just for the thrill of it or bragging rights rather than buying things they actually need. I like the people who donate some of the items they buy so at least the items go to good use.

      Like

  2. Cheyanne · January 18, 2016

    I used to be a coupon freak. Then I realized I was spending money on coupons plus buying stuff I didn’t need BECAUSE I had a coupon for it. I’ve been doing the digital coupons through Ralphs, Vons, Walgreens, Rite Aid, etc and it works much better for me. I can just “clip them” instead of cutting, sorting, staying up on expired coupons etc, it’s faster at checkout AND totally free. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · January 20, 2016

      I LOVE digital coupons! I use Cartwheel for Target and the Safeway app to get extra discounts but I’ll have to check out the ones for Walgreens and Rite Aid.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

