Doesn’t Hurt to Ask

Something I’m not very good at:  Saving money.

Something I’m working on:  Saving money.

It’s just a struggle for me but like any struggle I recognize it and work on it with the hopes that in the future it’s less of a struggle for me.

I am doing much better.  The more I focus on it and make myself face the realities of my budget the more I find myself improving my financial situation.  I’m usually counting down the days to payday but this week I didn’t even realize it was coming up so soon..that’s a good sign for me.  It means I’m inching myself away from living paycheck to paycheck.

I definitely don’t have it all figured out but I’m making significant progress.

All my bills seem to fall right around the same time of the month.  Rent is of course due on the 1st then a slew of bills seem to come in with due dates around the same time but a week or so before the next check comes in.  I did some research this morning and found a solution.

I called to see if I could change the billing cycle on a few cards.  It was super easy.  Each call took less than 5 minutes.  I discovered most card companies will change your due date once in a 12 month period but you have to pick up the phone and ask.  I thought of it a couple months ago but didn’t think it would actually be possible.  My cell phone company said no but there was a reason for it and I’ll be able to change it in the future.  I guess the lesson learned is, it doesn’t hurt to ask.

I definitely feel a sense of accomplishment getting that taken care of this morning.

I’m still working on budgeting.  This week I’m going out for brunch tomorrow so I’m going to skip dinner at Trivia night on Tuesday.  I have the time so I’ll just eat dinner before I go.  I bought some groceries without a list yesterday, which was not a good idea.  I ended up missing a few things and going a bit over budget so I plan to spend $10 or less to pick up a couple items then that’s it for the week.

Today I kept myself home to do the grown up things I’ve been avoiding like filing paperwork, cleaning, laundry, etc, all the boring stuff I ignore during the week because I’m too “busy” and “tired” In reality I’m just “procrastinating” and “being lazy”

I finished most of what I needed to this morning so now I can enjoy a laid back afternoon.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend!  😀

5 comments

  1. Dr Meg Sorick · January 23, 2016

    Make sure you take advantage of 401k plans at work if offered! Automatic withdrawals make saving so much easier!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · January 24, 2016

      Absolutely! At my first job I waited way too long to enroll in 401k because I simply didn’t understand it. That’s definitely something I would go back and tell my past self to do, “Enroll in 401k!” I definitely missed out on some money not enrolling sooner.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. getfitgetfabulous · January 23, 2016

    Such a good point about getting your bills out at the same time every month. I get paid monthly and know that won’t change so all my bills come out a couple of days after my pay date. Makes a small difference but it has helped me to see clearly what I have left and budget better. Saving is a struggle because they’re always seems to be something you want but it is so worth it. Think what you can do with the money you save! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · January 24, 2016

      I’m thinking changing these few due dates will help me out significantly. I’m really hoping to start looking at a new car this summer or early fall so that’s a goal I’m keeping in mind when I feel like I want to start spending outside my means.

      Like

Share your thoughts...

