Meal Plan Monday

 

It’s been a while since I’ve written a Meal Plan Monday post or maybe it just feels like it’s been awhile but either way it’s back!

This morning I ran into a dilemma.  As I mentioned last week I went grocery shopping with no list so among my brilliant decisions during the shopping process I bought lunch meat but no bread, bagels, tortillas, pitas, nothing to place the lunch meat upon to eat it.

As I stared into the fridge at the lunch meat I couldn’t eat I realized I had lettuce so I thought, why don’t I just make lettuce wraps?

I packed a container with a few pieces of lettuce, a handful of lunch meat, and some vinaigrette dressing for dipping sauce.  Surprisingly it was quite tasty and filling so I’ll be a bit obsessed with the lettuce wraps for the rest of the week.  It’s actually a good thing because I need to eat the lettuce before it goes bad and it’s a bit healthier plus I’m trying to not shop anymore this week.

I can make it without shopping because I’ll be gone this weekend so I’m really trying to eat up all the veggies and fruit before I go.

I’m attempting to be more mindful of how much food I waste because that’s like throwing money away.  I feel like I waste too much food so I’m trying to pay attention to how much I’m buying and looking for the best ways to buy only what I need.

It can be tough to shop for one because so many items are more economical in bulk but I have to remind myself of the same thing I said about the coupons, “It’s not a good deal if you won’t use it.”   It might be cheaper to buy a large container of spinach but if I can’t eat that much spinach before it goes bad it’s more waste and less savings.

As for working out……

I’ve started out the week strong with my steps but still have yet to have a week where I meet my goal of 10,000 steps more than one day per week.  I’m really focusing on getting my steps in whenever possible and tonight I should meet my goal.  It was a nice day so when I was on a work errand I walked around the block once (it was like taking a 15 minute break) and even volunteered to go out again so I could get in a few more steps.  I’m at about 8,000 right now and I’ve been doing walking/jogging in place at night while I’m watching TV.  I’m thinking this is the week I get to 60,000 steps.  I’ve been hitting 45,000 to almost 50,000 but I’m stepping up my game (no pun intended) this week!

Below is my simple meal plan.  I did cheat tonight and bought frozen cod as my splurge of the week.  Rest of the week is variations of pasta, rice, and veggies 🙂

Monday
Lunch:  Lettuce wraps with lunch meat
Dinner: Cod and Veggies

Tuesday
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner:  Spaghetti

Wednesday
Lunch: Lettuce wraps with tuna
Dinner:  Leftover spaghetti

Thursday
Lunch:  Lettuce wrap with tuna
Dinner:  Veggies and rice

Friday
Lunch: Leaving early so probably just a light snack
Dinner:  Surprise!

Saturday
Dinner: Out

Sunday
Dinner:  Whatever I have in my fridge….or might eat out as repayment for someone doing me a favor

2 comments

  1. Ompong · January 25, 2016

    Don’t forget to bring me along if you eat out… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Smiling Notes · January 25, 2016

    I love your meal plans.. They always give me ideas for meal planning 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

