Be Yourself

As a teenager I wore a dress that was fluorescent green and blue.  I wore it with a lime green sweater with an alligator on it, knee high socks, and platform heels.  I was the type of person who when riding with a group of friends would suggest we pull over to dance outside the car if a great song came on the radio.  I’ve always been a bit eccentric and a bit of a free spirit

As I grew older I made friends with people who were more conservative and I was always the wild, brave, adventurous, creative friend.  The first one on the dance floor, the one who would knock if we weren’t sure we were at the right place, the one who would go up to strangers at parties and say, “Who are you?”

I struggled with this part of my personality for a while and simply wanted to blend, wanted to be “normal”, didn’t want to be the “weird” friend.

In the last year or so, while I’ve been going through unemployment, finding a new job, changing my lifestyle, and everything else I’ve gone through I’ve learned about myself and who I am.  I’ve accepted my quirkiness.

c4238665fc5d0bab47e8cc5cc27f3d39

I am eccentric.  I am a bit weird.  I’m artsy.  I’m sarcastic.  I’m silly.

It’s just part of who I am plus I think life is too short to worry about being serious all the time.  My job can be so serious and heavy that I have to remember all the good, light-hearted fun there is to be had in this world.

If I want to pose with statues, take pictures of clouds, talk to squirrels (okay, that one might be concerning), feed the crows (I had a dream I trained them to catch peanuts in the air when I threw them, we’re working on it), attempt to moon walk across the street, play on a playground, or sing Disney songs in the car that’s what I’m going to do because it makes me happy.  If I’m stuck in bumper to bumper traffic on the Interstate the only way to keep my sanity is lots of swearing and Disney songs.

I’m sure my dramatic rendition of “Let it Go” when I was stuck in traffic the other day was entertaining to those around me.  Plus, It’s not a terrible thing to let go every once and again to just have fun without worrying about what other people think.

 

I know a big part of my coming to terms with who I am was finding friends who accept and embrace me, and my random kookiness 😉  tumblr_mrfzrpuhx01rq8orvo1_500Friends who know if we’re in a toy store I’m going to push all the “try me” buttons on the stuffed animals.  Friends who know I’m attracted to sparkly things.  Friends who will wait while I take a picture of a lamp post or a tree or a crack in the sidewalk because I see something interesting in it.  Friends who know I might just start singing along if I hear a song I like…at the grocery store.

I’m not sure how to wrap this post up but I guess the best way would be to say

tumblr_inline_nhxn6xfvx21s6lw3t

Okay, Maybe a better way would be to say simply to

…..Be Yourself. 

 

…Unless you can be Batman.  That’s the exception to the rule 😀

53515308

8 comments

  1. Paula Psicóloga · February 15, 2016

    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. youmeanme · February 11, 2016

    All of this!
    I used to worry all the time that I was too much. My mum was big on pointing out people who didn’t dress or behave ‘appropriately’. So I grew up knowing that there is always someone judging you. The downfall was I was trying not to be judged so I would never do anything risque. I’m coming to terms with myself because frankly I’m awesome. I’m also a whole lot more fun when I dance to the music in the grocery, tell the chipmunks I’m returning soon and wear clothing I feel good in.

    Also if Disney’s taught me anything it’s that the squirrels like being acknowledged 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · February 15, 2016

      I struggle with that feeling sometimes of worrying about being judged but I’m learning if people want to judge me it’s more their problem than mine. It’s more fun to be yourself and dance in the grocery store. I acknowledge the birds too in the hopes that one day all I’ve learned from Disney will be true and they’ll start helping with the chores, maybe sew me a dress 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Cheyanne · February 11, 2016

    ABSOLUTELY! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Dr Meg Sorick · February 11, 2016

    Yes! I totally agree! It’s exhausting to stifle your own self just to try to fit in. And it really is true, the less you care about what people think, the more relaxed and self confident you are, it rubs off. People are attracted to that. And Batman, of course. Who wouldn’t be Batman if they had the chance? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. miusho · February 11, 2016

    I must say that once I accepted I was weird I started feeling a lot more confident and happy. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Dandelion Buttons · February 10, 2016

    You have been nominated for The Versatile Blogger Award…https://dandelionbuttons.wordpress.com/2016/02/11/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

