Social Butterfly?

I haven’t completely abandoned my hermit ways but I continue to make efforts to be more social and more active.

I skipped Friday night karaoke because Friday was a hell day at work and all I wanted to do was be on my own for the night.  I was not feeling social plus I knew I had plans to keep me busy all day Saturday.

A hike was scheduled for Saturday morning.  I like to get out early and our plan was late morning, 9:30 but my friend did not skip Friday night karaoke so she asked for a later start time so she could get a bit more sleep.  At 10:30 we were heading down the trail.  It was myself, my best friend, and her friend from work with her baby.

We had a bit of a rough start as I didn’t check the map very well and wasn’t sure which trail to take so we did about 45 minutes of walking down trails that led to the road or the parking lot then backtracking to try to find a real trail.  Thankfully we found our way to a trail that actually led us into the woods.  The trail was flat so not very challenging but still it’s always nice to be outside exploring and a 5 mile walk is good for the weekend.  1 walkway 2I love finding these little walkways.  It always feels like finding a little treasure in the forest.  The walk was a great mix of open areas and dark forest areas.  It lacked a specific destination or viewpoint to hike toward but I enjoyed the trail and it’s one I would walk again.  It’s also a bike trail but we didn’t encounter tons of bikers so that was nice.

IMG_1541

I was a little nervous when I heard a baby was coming on the hike but she was adorable and did great.  She got a little fussy toward the end but we’d been out walking for a couple hours so it was understandable.  It was actually her first hike and she seemed to love it.

Later that night I went to an Anti-Valentines Day party with my best friend.  It was okay.  I thought there would be more games or stuff to encourage interaction but it was mostly people standing around in little groups having conversations in two different rooms.  I’m probably just being too judgy….it’s what I do.

I did have a few drinks there then stayed at my friend’s place and had a couple more drinks then of course woke up with a monster hangover.  I’ll avoid making the proclamation of “I’m never going to drink again” but it’ll be awhile because I lost pretty much a whole day yesterday.  We went to breakfast in the morning where I received a meal that fed me all day, it was a full three meals worth of food so I got my money’s worth out of that meal.

IMG_1551

After gorging on my hangover meal (the bread was homemade and I could’ve eaten a whole loaf it was good) I drove home then spent the majority of my day on the couch napping.  It felt like such a waste of the day but every time I thought about doing something my body protested.

Other than my wasted day yesterday, it was a great weekend but my weekend isn’t over yet because today is a holiday!  I was planning to go out for a walk but it’s been pouring rain all day, not just sprinkling, pouring so I’m going with option #2.  Option #2 is taking myself out to a movie with one of my free movie passes.

I’ve been wanting to see The Revenant because it looks good and I’m attempting to see as many of the Oscar nominated movies I can before I submit my choices.  I have the family ballot that we do every year then this year there’s a pool at work and I’m determined to win everything 😉

I’m proud of myself for keeping up with my efforts to be more social and more active.  It’s easy to be a hermit but I’m having fun exploring my new area.

I should have a Meal Plan post up later today but we’ll see how the day goes.

Happy Monday!  🙂

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Cheyanne · February 15, 2016

    Sounds like a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · February 15, 2016

      It was great! Hope you had a good one! 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts...

