Social Eating

My eating habits continue to be hit and miss.  One of the biggest struggles for me right now is portion size and not walking away from the plate when I’m full.  I see food and it’s like….

emma-stone-gifs-eating-cutie-cupcake0406

It struck me as I dished up the last bit of a pasta dish I’d bought that says, “Feeds 4” on the front of the packaging.  I knew I’d eaten half last night then the other half today.  I’d taken 4 portions and made it 2 big portions.  The food itself was relatively healthy but eating too much of a healthy dish is still eating too much (This is important).

I realize I’m also sometimes pressured by the people around me.  I see them cleaning their plate so I feel the need to do the same even if I’m full.  We went out for Chinese food last week and the place had huge portions.  I was full but continued to eat because almost everyone else at the table ate everything on their plate, finally I had to quit and ask for a box.

It’s like in my mind I decided I couldn’t be the one who asks for a box so instead I was determined to be the one who stuffed herself to the point of uncomfortable.  I’m also finding myself doing what I call “social eating” where you eat even if you’re not hungry just because everyone else is eating or there just happens to be food around.

On the flip side though the other day after our long walk we stopped for burgers.  The burger wasn’t ridiculously huge and I was hungry.

12718361_1100383826668219_6889577945462863220_n.jpg

Okay, so the burger looks big but it wasn’t like a half pound burger or anything.  We’d had a late night of drinking and a 5 mile walk with little food to get us going in the morning.  I finished almost everything then felt bad even though one of the other girls finished her burger and most of her side dish.

I shouldn’t make myself feel bad for sometimes not eating everything on my plate and other times licking the plate clean.

My thoughts on challenges are to recognize the struggle then figure out how to overcome it.  I think I just need to focus more on myself and my own eating habits.  Go back to the basics.  If I’m hungry then I eat and if I’m not hungry then don’t eat.

I ate breakfast, lunch, and a snack today.  I’m cooking dinner right now so my eating has been good today.  I just have to make sure to not dish up 4 portions of spaghetti with chicken and spinach because I know it’s going to be super yummy!

Hope the week is off to a good start.  If anyone has any tips on controlling portions or avoiding the traps of social eating I’d love to hear them 🙂

 

 

 

12 comments

  1. youmeanme · February 23, 2016

    I now ask for a take out container when I order if I know that the portion is going to be huge. I divide my meal immediately and then I’m much happier. I also tend to finish up when everyone else is too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · February 24, 2016

      That’s such a brilliant idea. I’m going to do that next time I go out and have huge portions.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dr Meg Sorick · February 22, 2016

    If you get into the habit of doing that -listening to your body- you will find that it gets easier. It’s almost as if your stomach shrinks after you habitually eat less and you feel full faster. (I have no idea if that actually happens but it feels like it!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · February 24, 2016

      I was doing good with that for a while but old habits creep back in sometimes so just need to start doing just that, listening to my body 🙂 I don’t think the stomach shrinks but I think your body adjusts to eating less so you don’t feel as hungry but I could be wrong because it definitely feels like it shrinks when you start getting used to eating less.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dr Meg Sorick · February 24, 2016

        I know! That’s what I think, too! I know the stomach definitely has the ability to stretch – think failed bariatric surgeries, where the patient gradually increases the amount they eat until the pouch created by the surgery has stretched to accommodate the same amount of food a normal sized stomach would hold. But I wonder if the reverse is true… Perhaps I will look into it. Now I’m curious!

        Like

  3. Sassyfitnesschick · February 22, 2016

    Awareness is such a huge key in moving towards success! At parties I carry water and just sip on it. It gives my hands something to do. When eating out, it’s often helpful to get box when your food comes and dividing it out, then you aren’t tempted to keep eating and you have a lunch for next day =) Yes… don’t worry about others. Listen to your body, stop once your hunger is satisfied. I’ve learned that I hate that overfull feeling. It makes me feel gross so I stay away from that. If you have an “off” day, just refocus, and keep going. It will become more and more of a habit in time=)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Daisy9979 · February 24, 2016

      Someone else also suggested getting a take out box when the food comes and I adore that idea. I’m really focusing this week on listening to my body and trying not to overindulge, also working on nibbling when I’m bored. If I feel the need for a snack I grab a cup of tea or a glass of water to see if I’m really hungry. Thanks for the tips 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sassyfitnesschick · February 24, 2016

        Can I also suggest a phenomenal book that I’m fixing to start using working with clients? It’s so practical, real, easy to read and the strategies are just so…smart. It’s called Lean Habits For Life Long Weight Loss. You work on changing habits, one at a time, until you feel you’ve mastered them. She covers topics just like that…listening to your body…eating when you are truly hungry and not motivated by something other than hunger, emotional eating, eating “just enough” to be satisfied but not stuffed…etc…
        really good stuff. Check it out =)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Daisy9979 · February 25, 2016

        Sounds like exactly what I’m trying to work on so I’ll definitely check that out. Thanks! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. lisamariagardiner · February 22, 2016

    I learnt the hard way recently about eating socially when my body is telling me No – I felt unwell but out to lunch with friends, I chose soup, thought it would be the easiest to stomach – an hour later i was asking aforementioned friends to stop the car as I proceeded to throw up on the side of the road 😳 I will listen to my stomach next time!

    Would a smaller plate help in dealing with portion size? xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • Daisy9979 · February 24, 2016

      Oh no! I’ve done that before, not to where I threw up but did go out to eat when I probably should have not.
      A smaller plate size is a good idea. I need to do that more often when I’m dishing up food at home. Thanks for the tip 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

