Weekday Walking

Since I moved I’ve been struggling to find a walking path.  In Idaho I had a great little path right across the street, safe, peaceful, and with some views.  In a bigger city it can be a bit more challenging to find that type of location.  In my immediate area (within walking distance) I have sidewalks by a major road and a trail that’s mostly for bikes and doesn’t seem super safe to walk alone.  There’s some paths I can drive to but I like to find something right here, especially during the work week.

About 3 or 4 workdays each week I have to drive to a city about 30 minutes away.  I used to hate the drive but I’ve come to enjoy it for several reasons.

  1.  Most people don’t get to go out of the office during their work day so I’m grateful to get out of the office, especially on a nice day.
  2. I found a river road, or a back way to get out there that does not involve the stressful interstate or highway.  It’s a small, windy road along the river with amazing views.  It also doesn’t take that much longer than the interstate, sometimes it takes less time depending on traffic.  Plus a coworker showed it to me so I know it’s work approved.
  3. I found my walking path.  Technically my schedule includes an hour lunch.  I was only taking 30 minutes but using the hour gives me a chance to get in a midday walk.  I’m still off work by 4pm so it works for me.

IMG_1670It’s a 1.6 mile path around a lake and it’s lovely.  It’s populated so I feel safe but not overcrowded so I don’t feel like I’m fighting with people to walk.  It’s nice even on a cloudy, rainy day.  The first time I went out to walk it I saw a bald eagle!12043050_1103440423029226_7359720705822912393_n.jpgIt’s a blurry camera phone pic but I was still pretty excited.  I’d never seen one that close before and realized I might have to start traveling to work with my camera 😀

Part of my desire to get out and walk this week is my participation in a Workweek Hustle Challenge with 4 other ladies.  As I explained to a guy at work, there’s no prizes but whoever gets the most steps in the 5 days gets bragging rights and that’s enough for me.  It’s great motivation.

Last week I hit my goal of 60,000 steps and my goal for this week was 63,000 steps.  I’m just trying to slowly increase my step count each week toward the ultimate goal of doing 70,000 steps consistently then go from there to the next goal.  I’m also going to increase my daily step goal to 11,000 just to push myself closer to that goal.  IMG_1820Yesterday was a big deal for me because I hit my 10,000 step goal before I even left work, something I’ve never done before.

It’s not just the steps.

I walked 5 miles or more 3 days this week.

I had 200 active minutes in 5 days.

It’s not always easy and it requires effort on my part.  I have to find a way around my excuses.  One day it was raining but I found an umbrella and walked 1.5 miles.  I have to keep moving throughout the day, even if it’s just walking in place while I’m watching TV or finding ways to make extra trips to the copier at work.  I let people at work know what I’m doing and I think it’s helping motivate them too, one of the guys at work was talking about trying a Fitbit to get him moving more.

The more I do, the easier it is to for me to be active and to overcome the voice in my head saying, “I’m tired”

I should hit 70,000 this week as long as I can get my ass moving for a little bit today but my motivation is low.  I have to return a Redbox movie so maybe I’ll take the long way to get some extra steps.

I’ve found the challenges a great way to push me into being more active during the week.  I’m hitting my daily goal more consistently.  For the challenge, I came in 4th last week, 3rd this week, and just joined one for the next week.  The winning ladies hit over 70,000 steps in 5 days 😮 so I’ve got to work hard to get into first place.

I’ll keep you guys posted on my progress, hopefully this is one more step (ha ha) on my road to a healthier lifestyle.

Hope the weekend is treating you well!  I need to get dressed and get outside to enjoy the little bit of sunshine out there today!

6 comments

  1. SimpleLivingOver50 · March 12, 2016

    I love to hike on the weekends and find the challenge of walking uphill basked in the confounds of Oregon nature surrounding me does even more for my soul. There is something magical about taking a walk.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · March 12, 2016

      I love to spend weekends exploring the woods 🙂 I completely agree with you about the magic in a walk. Walking clears my mind and I find a certain peace comes from being out in nature.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. miusho · March 7, 2016

    Whenever you go on walks you tend to sound more cheerful in your posts. :O

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · March 7, 2016

      I tend to be more cheerful in real life too, I should keep that in mind when I’m tempted to skip my walk 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • miusho · March 8, 2016

        Gud. Very gud. Cheerful is always a nice add-on to the mood!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: A Random, Lazy Sunday Post | Transitions in my Life

Share your thoughts...

