Meal Plan Monday

….Just kidding 😀  It is Monday and I am going to talk about a meal but I’m actually going to skip the meal plans this week because it’s going to be a short week filled with leftovers.  Next week will be similar then maybe while I’m at training I’ll pick up some tips and tricks about eating healthy while I’m living out a suitcase (I’m also open to suggestions on that topic).

I worked late tonight.  I arrived home at 5:30 then remembered I needed an onion and garlic for the recipe I wanted to make.  Ugh!  I thought maybe I’ll just skip dinner or I’ll make something else or I’ll order something….finally I decided I would take 10 minutes and walk to the store.

I dug up some motivation because I was close to my step goal for the day and I knew this meal was healthier than any of the other options.  I didn’t even allow myself to sit down when I got home because I knew since I’d been on the go since about 6AM if I sat down all my motivation would disappear.  I began to chop up the onion and garlic because that was really the only prep then it was time to start cooking.

At one point I began to worry.  What if I’m putting all this effort and time into this dish and I end up hating it?  Also, I know I’m not the greatest cook in the world and began to worry that I’d taken on a dish that was too complicated.

I decided to forge ahead because the dish had ingredients I enjoy so I figured I wouldn’t hate them all mixed together and I was right.  Plus the recipe was not that complicated.

FullSizeRender

This is the recipe I used:  Braised coconut spinach & chickpeas with lemon

I served it over some brown rice but can see how it would be delicious on it’s own or as they suggest serving it, with a baked sweet potato.  Yum!  I’ll definitely make this again and it’s one I would recommend.  It’s a relatively inexpensive dish too.  I think the sun dried tomatoes and spinach were the most expensive components but I could find them cheaper if I shopped around a bit.

This whole eating healthy and walking more is starting to pay off as I’ve seen a little bit of weight loss plus just feeling better.  I know this next month is going to be super busy but I’m going to do everything I can to stay on track and also to keep writing.

That’s all I’ve got for today.  I should have another post on Wednesday.

Hope Monday treated you well!!  I’m just happy to have survived the day!  On the bright side I was so busy the day flew by….now it’s on to my favorite weekday, Trivia Tuesday!

funny-monday-pictures-8

 

 

3 comments

  1. The Twentysomething Social Recluse · March 22, 2016

    This looks delicious! I have some of the ingredients already at home, so I think I’ll buy the rest this week with a sweet potato. Hopefully mine will look as good as yours!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daisy9979 · March 27, 2016

      I’m sure it will be delicious! If you made it already hope it came out well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Twentysomething Social Recluse · March 28, 2016

        It did! Seeing this post again is making me hungry! X

        Like

Share your thoughts...

